1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hard drive problem (BIOS failure? hard drive failure?)

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by karen2003, Oct 2, 2004.

1. karen2003

karen2003 Regular member

Hi, all. I've been burning DVDs for several months now mostly without a hitch. This morning DVD Decrypter was running when my computer failed. When I re-booted the first time, everything was extremely slow (everything seemed to be locked up); I gave up on that and re-booted and at first glance everything looked fine. However, when I opened "My Computer," my 4-month-old hard drive was no longer listed -- I have it partitioned into 2 drives and neither one (f: nor j:) was listed. I THINK I saw a message with the word BIOS as the computer was going on the blink but the screen went by too fast to give me any info. Is it probable that the BIOS "instructions" for the new drive is bad (if that even makes any sense) or is it likely that my new hard drive itself failed? Of course that's where all my video files are stored (as well as all my music files, academic journal articles, etc., etc.). Unfortunately my college's help desk is closed on the weekends so I have no one to ask. ANY help would be appreciated, especially any suggestions on what I can check to verify it's a bad hard drive.

thanks much,
    Karen

P.S. My c: drive and external drives (both Sony DVD drives) seem to be fine -- it's just f: and j: that have disappeared. :-(
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Karen H.--Dell Optiplex GX240, P4 1.50ghz, 256mb RAM (yeah, I need more), Windows XP Pro w/SP1, 20gb c: drive, 128gb f: drive, 105gb j: drive, Sony DDU1621/C1 DVD-ROM to rip/encode, Sony DRX-530UL to burn[/small]

Last edited: Oct 2, 2004
  2. cgram7

cgram7 Member