1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hate being a newbie

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by GeoHound, Dec 22, 2002.

1. GeoHound

GeoHound Member

Well obviously I am a newbie. I have never burnt a dvd yet. besides a dragonball z dvd. Now I want to get into more complex burning. I have read a few of the posts in this forum, and even if the say they are a newb it still seems like they know their stuff. I know nothing when it comes to this. I have looked at a few guides but can't seem to understand it straight. If someone can tell me how to burn a DVD-9 as it is called into 2 DVD+R/-R in an easy to understand kind of way. I would really appreciate it. Is it possible to take out some of the extra features? I want to be able to get this all down within 4-5 days.... can someone please help?

2. DVDPlanet

DVDPlanet Guest

GeoHound,

Backing up your DVD is as easy as 1,2,and 3
    1. RIP
    2. STRIP or SPLIT
    3. BURN

TIPS. make sure you try to STRIP it first, if not then SPLIT it into 2 DVDRs and keep all menus. Merry Christmas!!!

3. GeoHound

GeoHound Member

What programs would I need? to strip it just means to take out features, right? Thanx for the help... I also have one more question. Now say I have a lot of vhs tapes I'd like to back up on dvd. I have a video capture card and I don't know what to do from there.

4. HomerJ

HomerJ Moderator Staff Member

GeoHound,

Stick to one problem at a time, it's all EASY when you know how, until then it's VERY HARD.

How about splitting a DVD-9 disc to start with ?

To do this, you will need Smartripper & Ifoedit, to do the DVD backup stuff You will also need burning software, but I guess you already have that, judging by your first post.

Both these are available from the home page of Afterdawn > Software.

Install these and report back.