1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Having Codec Issues? Look here.

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by Praetor, Sep 8, 2003.

  1. ash5137

    ash5137 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i dl'ed the one that was suggested on the start of this thread
    filename is iv5setup.exe that's the one i've got
    it stalls and just sits there and when i check task manager it says "not responding" so i end task it
    pls advise
     
  2. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
  3. ash5137

    ash5137 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    that one installs... or so i think
    it doesn't seem to have any effect though for some reason... it doesn't even come up in the Add/Remove programs list is that meant to happen?
    the thing is that when i play this vid in DivX player it plays the video in slow motion and the sound is fine
    when i play it using VLC it plays the sound and video in sync but with sound glitches like a lil screech every now and then
    with every other player it just gives a choppy/jerky vid and the sound plays properly
    pls advise
     
  4. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    You failed to answer my question
    :)
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7N8X-X, XP2500+ OC'd to XP3200+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700 OC'd to PC3200
    480GB [3x160GB, 7200, 8MB]
    EVGA, GeForce4 Ti4600 128MB

    Rules and Policies: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2004
  5. ash5137

    ash5137 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh sorry i overlooked that my bad
    system specs...
    athlon 1.2Ghz
    256MB ram
    Gforce 2 MX
    Soundblaster Live Value
    WinXP OS
     
  6. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well as for the choppiness, your machine, although it does seem like it is more than enough to do playback, it might be choking because of some system inefficiency -- I've got a P3-800 which, when optimized can play DivX movies very well but without that optimization, has a tendency to chop out quite a bit.
     
  7. ash5137

    ash5137 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh... system inefficiencies... any suggestions as to how to optimize my system? a thread perhaps?
    thx in advance
     
  8. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Nothing specific I can really say because (a) i dont actually know anymore, I just "do it" now and (b) this thread is specifically for dealing with codec problems rather than other performance/playback issues
     
  9. ash5137

    ash5137 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    alright thx for all the help nehows
     
  10. ale700

    ale700 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im having trouble playing an .avi file. gspot said it could render it. all i get when i open it is a black screen with no sound. it has teg in the filename. can anyone help me?
     
  11. Kusti88

    Kusti88 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If I want to watch movies that are in .avi, or other format, in winamp or DivX player what codecs should I download?
     
  12. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    WOW. You found the sticky thread ... but did you read it? ;-)
     
  13. sambal

    sambal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, i have a couple of films i just can't seem to watch. they have an .avi at the end of filename. i followed all the instructions re codecs, uninstalled and then carried out everything suggested by praetor at the start (selectively installing all the various codecs), but the films still won't play, in any of the many players (other films play just fine). gspot says: "filetype: elemntary AAC Audio, ADTS hdrs; & Mime Type: n.a." and can't render because format is not supported. avicodec also doesn't recognise the film. Can anyone help?
     
  14. Ozric

    Ozric Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Praetor and all the rest, thank you very much for this godsend of a post. I've been battling codecs for a long time with myself usually on the losing end. Following your instructions for removal of the old codecs and the installation of the DivX Total Pack, all my problem files are able to be played. With that, I've found a new forum to troll!!

    Praetor, I'd preferred to follow your install method instead of using the Total Pack, but many of your links in your original posts are now dead, you may want to update them.
     
  15. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
  16. Ozric

    Ozric Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oops, well I did find a file that didn't play after all. I believe I was able to play it before, too. So in uninstalling all those .dll's and installing the Total Pack, it would appear that we do lose Indeo, or at least some Indeo if there's more than one version of it.

    An .avi file of mine wants to have Indeo's IV50 installed to play. I probably still have it in my Recycle Bin, but which one is it? I don't want to have a conflicting .dll in my system32 folder, and I'm not seeing a .dll in there that shows anything that looks like 'IV50'. Hmmm,... TIA!!!

    EDIT: Found one. Also, the Total Pack didn't give support for CVID files. Found that one too though. Thanks again!!
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]AMD Barton 2500+ oc'd to 3200+
    Shuttle AN35[N]-Ultra (nForce2 Ultra 400)
    2x512 Mushkin Level 1 PC3200
    Gainward GForce4 4800SE
    3x80 Gig Deskstars - 1x160 Gig Deskstar ATA100[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2004
  17. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    There is although the last 3 are really the only ones that matter :)

    Got a link for it? Cheers for the heads-up :)
     
  18. Ozric

    Ozric Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    CVID Codec: http://www.probo.com/cinepak.htm
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]AMD Barton 2500+ oc'd to 3200+
    Shuttle AN35[N]-Ultra (nForce2 Ultra 400)
    2x512 Mushkin Level 1 PC3200
    Gainward GForce4 4800SE
    3x80 Gig Deskstars - 1x160 Gig Deskstar ATA100[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2004
  19. Miroslaw2

    Miroslaw2 Guest

    Praetor, thank you very much for this godsend of a post. It's a great idea!
    If I change NIMO 5.0 Build 9 to K-Lite Codec Pack ver 2.27 and do the same steps in accordance with your technology will I receive the same result?
    At first glance K-Lite Codec has approximately all codecs what I need with exception of
    1)Div ;-) Audio 2)Div Fix 3)Avisynth. But these items I can add separately.
    Is this a reasonable idea or wrong way?

    K-Lite Codec Pack ver 2.27

    Media Player Classic [ver 6.4.8.2]
    DivX Pro [ver 5.1.1] [Decoding]
    DivX Pro [ver 5.1.1] [Encoding]
    DivX ;) MPEG-4 Low and Fast motion [ver 4.1.0.3927]
    [X] XviD [ver 1.01] [2004-06-05] [Decoding]
    [X] XviD [ver 1.01] [2004-06-05] [Encoding]
    [X] huffyuv [ver 2.2.0]
    [X] MS MPEG-4 [ver 4.1.0.3927]
    [X] 3ivX [ver D4 4.5.1] [Decoding]
    [X] 3ivX [ver D4 4.5.1] [Encoding]
    Windows Media 7 [ver 7.1.0.3055]
    Windows Media 8 [ver 8.0.0.371]
    Windows Media 9 VCM [ver 9.0.1.369]
    On2 VP3 [ver 3.2.5.0]
    On2 VP6 [ver 6.2.0.10] [Decoding]
    On2 VP6 [ver 6.2.0.10] [Encoding]
    Cyberlink DVD decoder [ver 5.0.0.1130]
    Ligos Indeo XP [ver 5.2820.15.58]
    Intel Indeo [ver 4.51.16.2]
    Intel Indeo [ver 3.24.15.03]
    Intel I.263 [ver 2.55.1.16]
    Ligos/Elecard/MainConcept MPEG-2 demultiplexors & decoders
    [X] Fraunhofer MP3 DirectShow decoder [ver 1.9.0.311]
    [X] Ogg Vorbis DirectShow decoder (CoreVorbis) [ver 1.0b5]
    [X] WMA DirectShow decoder [ver 8.0.0.4487]
    LAME MP3 ACM Encoder [ver 3.96]
    [X] DirectVobSub (vsfilter) [ver 2.33]
    [X] DivX Anti-Freeze [ver 0.4]
    [X] AC3 DirectShow decoder [ver 0.70b mod]
    [X] AC3 ACM decoder [ver 0.7]
    [X] Morgan Multimedia Stream Switcher [ver 0.9.9]
    AAC DirectShow decoder (CoreAAC) [ver 1.0b9]
    MusePack DirectShow decoder [ver 1.0.0.3]
    Voxware DirectShow decoder [ver 1.0.0.12]
    Monkey's Audio DirectShow decoder [ver 1.00]
    Ogg Vorbis DirectShow filters [ver 0.9.9.5]
    Matroska DirectShow splitter [ver 1.0.2.3]
    Matrix Mixer [ver 0.30b]
    SHOUTcast Source [ver 1.0.0.1]
    GSpot Codec Information Appliance [ver 2.21 build 030711]
    FourCC Code Changer
    Bitrate Calculator
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 23, 2004
  20. barts17

    barts17 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi, i am new here , and have some sneaky codec problems. most of my *.avi with a xvid codec will display blurry on my screen with mp9. i want to un register ALL my codec and reinstall the ones i need. any one can tell me how to do that,

    thnx

    Bart
     

Share This Page