1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HDMI Cable to dvd player

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Norm9, Jun 17, 2007.

1. Norm9

Norm9 Guest

Hi there, i want to ask a question as im new to the HDMI Features as my brother got an LCD TV, I noticed he has a scart lead from his telly to the dvd player & didnt notice any HDMI cables around, shouldnt he have got one with the telly & get a better picture also i didnt notice a slot for the HDMI cable?

The reason im asking this as i was viewing LCD's the previous day at an electrical store & reading up on the literature & offers with the telly's.

The salesperson i got talking to (turned out in the end i told her more about it than she did LOL) Also does Most/some LCD's have 2 or 1 HDMI conn's at back?

Thanks for any help, as im trying to learn as much as i can before purchasing one in the near f;ture & at the same time getting the best out of my brother's, heh!

2. AxlMyk

AxlMyk Member

You don't normally get a HDMI cable with a TV.. I got mine for free with my Samsung DVD/VCR..

3. gerry1

gerry1 Guest

I'm not too familiar with British TVs, for some reason they're different from American TVs which is really stupid. It could be, however, that his hi-def signal is delivered to the TV though a DVI cable or the three cable component cables (they are actually three cables with the colors red, green and blue markings on the cables. HDMI is relatively new, if the TV was bought a year or two ago, it could well not have HDMI and still be high def through DVI or component.

4. Norm9

Norm9 Guest

On what i saw he was using or what was on it a 21pin Scart/EuroAV cable plugged in to it & i'd imagine that he'd only need the component cables (Yr,Yg,Yb) As you see the terminology for cables is confusing but all used for the same purpose (do you's have scart cables in US?) btw what's a DVI cable-if i may ask?