1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help appreciated on a few ????????????s

Discussion in 'Audio' started by kees, Feb 28, 2003.

1. kees

kees Guest

I am just getting started with ripping, etc and have a few questions that I hope someone can help me with.

1. Encoding mp3 using Nero 5.5.10 uses which codec ?

2. Nero offers an mp3 plugin, which they say uses the Fraunhofer codec, but I can already create mp3 files. I may have gotten this ability when I purchased their mp3pro plugin (mistake). Any ideas?

2. dbecker

dbecker Regular member

nero gives you 30 days free to use the mp3 plugin. Now i don't know about mp3pro and whether that gives you the ability to basic mp3 encoding, but i would look at the free stuff that does even a better job. That would be the lame encoder and use the frontend razor lame.

3. kees

kees Guest

Thanks. Does LAME do better at a fixed 320kbps rate? I have tried using EAC and LAME and it takes substantially longer to get through a CD.

4. cd-rw.org

cd-rw.org Active member

5. Shoey

Shoey Guest

EAC (Exact Audio Copy) is considered to be 1 of the best programs for music. If you own a Plextor, then definatly use Plex Tools,lol
    Look at this tutorial for EAC for more help.

http://www.ping.be/satcp/tutorials.htm

Another great tool for music that was just released not along ago called AccurateRip=
    freeware.

AccurateRip: http://www.accuraterip.com/

Shoey

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 1, 2003
  6. kees

kees Guest

Thanks. I have been using EAC/LAME and Nero to create some mp3 in 320 constant bit rate. The wav files created by EAC and Nero appear to be the same, at least in terms of size. The resulting MP3 from EAC/LAME is a little larger. EAC/Lame seems to sound a little better. Is the situation where lame is substantially better seen when encoding at <320kbps ?

7. Shoey

Shoey Guest