1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help building a DVD+R with multiple VCD (Mpeg) Episodes

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by JGR2D2, Jun 7, 2007.

1. JGR2D2

JGR2D2 Member

Hello,

I've spent the last three days reading a lot of guides to help me burn some VCDs, add permanent subtitles and lot of other things. Those guides are really amazing but sometimes I've getlost with so many information. I'm a newbie afterall :)

Anyway, I'm from Brazil and me and my wife are both a Stargate Atlantis Fans. For some stupid reason they canceled the third season here. So, I have this friend that sent me the whole season in Xvid format (avi - 624X352; 23FPS and Audio 123 kbps). My external DVD Player (Panasonic SA-HT75) doesn't play Divx, Xvid or SVCDs but does play VCDs and with the help of some guides I managed to convert the Xvid files to MPeg (MPEG-1 624x352 30fps CBR 1150kbps, Layer-2 48000Hz 192kbps) and burn it on a regular CD using Nero Burning Room (as far I remember, Nero re-encoded again the audio before burning but I'm not sure) and it worked like a charm with a regular image (I'm good with that), nice audio, yellow subtitles ( I like more than the whites ones).
    The original avi files are about 350Mb each and when I re-encoded to Mpeg they became like 420Mb each. Ok...so far so good.

Now I realized that the ideal is to burn some of those Mpegs files into a DVD instead of burn a lot of regular CDs (20 episodes). Since each Mpeg file has about 420Mb I thought that 2 DVDs with 10 episodes each will be fine or maybe 3 DVDs...don't know really.

I run into some guides that explained me that I need to re-encode the audio but I noticed that the audio is already encoded in 48000hz. I tried to use DVD-Lab and TMPGEnc DVD Author to do this task but TMPGEnc seems to be more easy-to-use.