1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! how do I convert vhs to dvd?

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by jasmine82, Dec 14, 2005.

1. jasmine82

jasmine82 Member

Hi, I am really new at this and I was wondering how I would go about converting Vhs to dvd. I have a pc with a dvd burner, I burn dvds all the time and i was wondering if there was a software out there that made it possible to transfer vhs into my computer so that I can then burn it on my dvd burner.
    thanxs

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

What you Need isn"t necessarilly Software which you do Need but more Importantly you need to have Video Capture Hardware in your PC...

You need to have an analogue Video Capture Card of some sort to Digitize the VHS Video and Transfer it to your PC"s Hard Drive...

I suggest you get a Capture device that uses Hardware Compression Like the "Hauppaggue WinTV PVR-150" which Can Capture the Video to your Hard Drive in the Correct Format for DVD (Which is Mpeg-2) then all you would have to do is Load the Captured Mpeg-2 file into a DVD authoring Program and add your Menu"s and Chapters and Burn the DVD...

A Simple to use DVD authoring Program is "Tmpgenc DVD author" or if you want something more advanced then "MediaChance DVDLab Pro" is very good But a Bit Complicated.....

You can Pick up the Capture Device I mentioned above for under $100 and then all you need is the DVD authoring Program and your DVD Burner and you can Transfer VHS to DVD.....

Cheers

3. jasmine82

jasmine82 Member

Cool, thanks a lot for the advice. Just a question though cause I'm really new to this, I'm not sure how the Win tv thing works, Is it a device that will plug into my vcr so that the information can then be transferred to my pc?

4. rebootjim

rebootjim Active member

The PVR-150 is a hardware mpeg-2 encoding (digitizing) card.