1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help I just downloaded a divx movie

Discussion in 'Video playback problems' started by futerboy, Mar 27, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. futerboy

futerboy Member

Can someone help me please as I am new at this stuff.. I've just downloaded a divx(AIV) movie of the website KaZaA and when I try to play it I get a black screen with no sound.. yet I see the counter clock playing.. whats wrong? I've checked the properties of the movie and under video format: it says Uncompressed i'm not sure what this means can someone please help.. the movie is in two parts do i need to download the second part before I can see any of it??

2. recall383

recall383 Guest

I am having a problem that seems to be very similar to yours. I also downloaded a movie off KaZaA but it seems that I'm in a little bit better shape than you. Every DivX(.avi) file I download has sound but no video..So I'm also looking for an answer to this question...can anyone help?

3. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

DivX3 SBC file, probably. Try to uninstall your DivX4 and DivX5 codecs and install DivX 3.11 alpha (can be downloaded from our site) and see if it helps.

4. Domrealta

Domrealta Member

i'm having the same trouble that you guys are having too, i tried installing the DivX 3.11 alpha, but it didn't seem to help, i still get a black screen and no sound, any other ideas??

5. walls83

walls83 Guest

let me take a guess. its either spiderman or AoTC.. Right..? Well ive had the same problems and Ive never had a problem watching movies from Kazaa. I think the problems is there just isnt any video, its a bogus .avi file. Just cause theres sound doesnt mean there has to be video. One of the best codex out there that plays everything is "ANGEL POTION" you can download it at kazaa.

6. johnbmx

johnbmx Member