1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help-Internet Connection Sharing in Ubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by tyknappy, Jan 17, 2008.

1. tyknappy

tyknappy Member

Ok, so I have Ubuntu 7.10 installed on my hp laptop and I get internet through the wireless card(eth1). So now I am trying to figure out how to get internet connection sharing working so that my desktop ubuntu box can get internet too. I have my desktop computer connected to a wired hub that is also connected to my laptop (connected through eth0). When my laptop had windows installed on it ICS worked flawlessly. So now I am trying to figure out how to do it on my ubuntu laptop. I looked all over the internet for a solution to my problem, but a lot of the tutorials are pretty confusing to me, im still a noob a linux so any help would be appreciated

2. OzMick

OzMick Guest

You need to create a network bridge. I'm not sure if it works well on Linux when bridging a wlan to a lan, but I don't think it is too difficult.

One suggestion I've seen is to install "firestarter". I'll assume you at least know how to download/install new stuff with Ubuntu.

There are some other command line solutions I see getting thrown around. http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=132515

Again, I'm not sure if it will work wlan<->lan. I saw something that went on about most wireless cards being unable to spoof MAC addresses which is apparently needed for the method by which Linux does bridging, though it was fairly old and the kernel has probably changed quite a bit since, so give it a go still.

3. varnull

varnull Guest

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2008
  4. OzMick

OzMick Guest

5. varnull

varnull Guest

Nice device.. I may invest. It would be very useful for testing laptop repairs.

Most of the ubuntu things related to mac spoofing all seem to end like this one.. a solution, but nobody prepared to tell how.