1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help need for copying to media player.

Discussion in 'Media tanks' started by Kevin-2011, Jan 18, 2014.

1. Kevin-2011

Kevin-2011 Newbie

Hi im needing somehelp,

Ive been looking at putting my dvds/blu rays on to a media player or something similar but dont know where to start. Im a complete newbie to this sort of thing and would apprecitate any info/help that you guys can give. thanks.

2. scorpNZ

scorpNZ Active member

They need to be ripped first
    anydvd -trial
    clonedvd-trial
    dvdfab -free to rip always the rest is trial
    dvdshrink-very old best used to edit titles by removing un-needed lang & subs & removing intro & outro clips from titles,reducing size of vid = better quality when converting depending on other variables
    .....................................................................................
    next you need to becareful to what format you choose to convert to & it's compression,you say a media player,converting to a smart phone or some other weak player which requires large amounts of compression will mean quality is severely reduced if you decide to watch them from a computer on a large screen will look like crap so will the dvd will require reconverting to higher bitrate doubling up on the same movie
    ........................................................................................
    next up is the conversion software to some sort of container lets take a mp4,regardless of what format container you use in the end it's almost like a folder that houses the video content nothing more,the only issue you have will be compatibility across devices
    ........................................................................................
    free converters there's many others in software section & at videohelp .com

staxrip -to convert to avi