1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help on capturing/authoring, Please

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by jtak, Aug 18, 2004.

1. jtak

jtak Member

Hi, I'm completely new at this, so please bear with me. I have read quite a few postings relating to this subject, but I'm just confused...
    I'm going to order the Canopus ADVC-100, it seems to be widely accepted as the best. A few things I want to accomplish.
    1. Transfer VHS to DVD (some w/ and some w/o editing)
    2. Copy/Backup DVD/VCD
    3. Isolate and copy sound tracks from DVD to CD (if possible)
    My System: Laptop, P4, 3.0Ghz HT, 768MRAM, 60Gb main and 120Gb secondary by firewire, 64M Graphics, XP Pro.
    I have Sonic MyDVD LE V5.0 and Windows Movie Maker.
    My understanding is that ADVC-100 does not come with any software. Will the software I have do the job well, or should I start shopping for software? I would like to do the job right the first time, meaning using the best software/hardware that would give me the best results.
    Would really appreciate your insights. Thanks.

2. VideoBob

VideoBob Regular member

Jtak,

There are a couple of more recent threads that address this. It might prevent re-inventing the wheel to review them.

There are *many* commbinations that work for different people. The general consensus is to avoid Pinnace and Nero authoring software.

I use Ulead VideoStudio for the entire process--start to finish--and have had no problems. I use a digital camcorder with firewire as a video capture device.

Hope this helps.

bob

3. Minion

Minion Senior member

Yes the Canopus ADVC-100 doesn"t come with Software but is Compatible with any DV Capture program...