1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help please!!

Discussion in 'Resource center' started by ramphot, Sep 8, 2005.

1. ramphot

ramphot Guest

I just moved to another city to study and it's nearly impossible to get a place to live, finally I got somewhere but this people have broadband which i don't have to pay for to use it. BUT, their conditions it's that they have a firewall and some jind of filter, I have never had to deal with those things. So how can i surf freely without having to move out (eventually i will), another thing it's can they monitor what i do? can i somehow by pass it? so all my activity goes undetected?
    I know that for many this is basic stuff but I'm pretty new at this so I appreciate all help.
    Cheers

2. nownthen

nownthen Regular member

What kind of setup is the internet.

For example do you have router and you both connect to the internet?
    Do you use the same computer?
    Are the filters ISP based or is it software?

The more detail the more advice I can give you.

3. ramphot

ramphot Guest

Hi nowthen, No we do not use the same computer. As long as i know there's is an internet connection, and they use a router downstairs and then they have a cable that comes up to my bedroom which I plug in straight to my computer. Thanks for your help

4. nownthen

nownthen Regular member

I don't think they can monitor what you are doing. The only thing they probably can do is monitor how much bandwidth your using. Your downloaded and uploaded information will not pass through the other computer. Just to keep your files safe you might want to make sure you haven't set anything up to share. If folders are shared you'll see a hand under the icon image.

The firewall is either on the router or one their computer. If the firewall is on the router is will effect you. What you need to find out is what kind of router it is and veiw their site on how to change settings.