1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with Canopus ADVC 100

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by arunc, Feb 4, 2005.

1. arunc

arunc Member

I am thinking for buying the Canopus ADVC-100 as recommended by many users on this group. What rendering software is recommended for this product?
    I am a real beginner at all this and would appreciate helpful suggestions.

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

I don"t really know what you Mean by a "Rendering" product??

The ADVC-100 is a Hardware DV Encoder which will capture the Files in DV AVI format...If you want to Put these Files on to DVD then you will Have to encode the Captured Files to Mpeg-2 useing a Good Quality Mpeg encoder Like "Tmpgenc Xpress" and after they have been encoded to Mpeg-2 for DVD you will need to use a DVD Authoring Program like "DVDLab" so you can add your menu"s and Chapters and to Burn the DVD......

3. arunc

arunc Member

Can I use a commercial product like Pinnacle Studio for instance? Does it support the AVI format?

4. Minion

Minion Senior member

I guess you Could But it is a Pretty Crappy program in My Opinion, Especially it"s Mpeg encodeing which is Pretty Bad compared to other Standalone encoders...

I find for the Best results it is Better to use seperate Programs to accomplish each Step in the Process because there are no "All In One" Programs that do anything well so you will achieve much better Quality if you use a standalone DV Capture Program (DV Capture is Totally Different than Analogue Capture) Like "Scenalyzer Live" and then use a Standalone Mpeg encoder to encode the Files to Mpeg-2 Like "Tmpgenc Xpress" and then use a Standalone DVD Authoring Program Like "DVDLab" or "DVDLab Pro".....