1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help with installing mod chip

Discussion in 'Xbox - Hardware boot discussion' started by foolish, Oct 16, 2004.

1. foolish

foolish Guest

i just got a xenium ice chip for my 1.6. i'm new at this so i don't have a clue how to put it in. i don't wanna mess my xbox up. can some one help.

2. gtaxbox

gtaxbox Regular member

3. foolish

foolish Guest

o.k. i appreciate gtaxbox on replying but i have been to that web site and i did try to re build my motherboard and my xbox didn't work. so i just pulled all the wires off and fortunatly it worked again. i don't know what i did wrong. i'm not good at soldering but i thout it was o.k. what i did was solder the pin header in first, then i solder the wires were they were suppose to go. was i suppose to solder in the pin header? was i suppose to solder the wires to the pin header? the picture lokked like they solder the wire in the holes. if i would have solder them wrong the the xbox would have not worked after i pulled them off right? i also solder the blue and black wire on the front part. now could have any of the soldering been wrong in oder for it not to work?

4. gtaxbox

gtaxbox Regular member

It was most definitely your solderjob (a cold joint or something). Fortunately, however bad you solder a chip on, Xboxes tend to survive it once you remove the chip.

Try the install again, this time with wires. Also, if you have a multimeter, check continuity between the pinheader pins and lpc points, and the lpc voltages once the Xbox is on. Make sure you use flux when soldering to the lpc. Might even help if you scraped the top of the points a little to expose the metal...

5. foolish

foolish Guest