1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with playing HD DVD

Discussion in 'HD DVD discussion' started by solamax, Jul 22, 2009.

  1. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a LG GGWH20L drive that supports BR and HD DVD disc. I am using Powerdvd 9 ultra and can only play BR disc. It tells me I have no dvd in drive when I put in a HD DVD disc. I try Powerdvd 7.3 and it keeps wanting me to upgrade, when I click no, it still does not read the disc. Is there a software that plays HD DVD? My system is a AMD X4 955BE with 4 gb ram, ATI 4890 videocard, 7.1 soundcard. I also try explorer to see if there is anything in the drive and it shows nothing with BR nad HD DVD disc. Any suggestion would be appreciated. Thanks
     
  2. qwert99

    qwert99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I don't have an answer for you, but try PowerDVD 8. In my HTPC it has been the version that has always worked for me, and I've tried all of the versions.

    By the way, it's normal for the drive to not display its contents in Explorer. My bluray drive never displays BDR content, either.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2009
  3. BigDK

    BigDK Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Power DVD 8 and 9 both have HD DVD format support removed.

    I had the same issue, unfortunatley you'll need to install the version that comes on the CD with the drive, then run HD DVD movies with that, and all other with the Version 9.

    Another problem is that most newer BR movies won't play in version 7, all you get is blocked garbled screen.

    Cyberlink decided that as HD had lost the format war, it wouldn't bother to support it anymore.

    There is a patch out for a particular version 8, but when I tried it, it didn't work.

    I happily have both installed on my HTPC, and set v9 as default, its then only with the HD DVD movies I have to select the older version to play the film.
     
  4. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried the patch for version 8 and it didn't work for me either when trying to run the .ax file (last step). The thing that sucks is that I bought a oem version not retail, so now I have to find a cd. Bummer
     
  5. qwert99

    qwert99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I have to use version 8 to get it to even work with bluray. It can be pretty finnicky.

    Have you tried removing copy protection from the HD DVD using AnyDVD? HDCP can cause a lot of problems, too.


     
  6. solamax

    solamax Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does it mean I have to RIP it? I just want to be able to put my HD DVD in my drive and play it. I am not interest in making back up, etc.
     
  7. qwert99

    qwert99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No, you don't have to rip it. AnyDVD just runs silently in the background and removes all copy protection/HDCP protection from the disc. It's a really great program.

    There is a trial version, I think. Or you can buy it for pretty cheap and get lifetime upgrades/support. Or there are cracks out there.
     
  8. BigDK

    BigDK Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  9. BigDK

    BigDK Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If by it being helpful you mean 'anydvd'.

    Then it doesn't help with DVD playback, only advantage is it will remove any copy protection, and as such allow you to rip the film to a HDD for playback from there, that's what I do, so all my films are accessable without having to retrieve the disks every time.

    BD disks can also have the HDCP removed, which enables playback without limitation of hardware compliance.

    I've already filled up 2 x 1TB drives, thats the only downside, but then I'm selective of what I want available to play instantly, otherwise it would have been 4-5 drives filled up.

     
  10. EIZOER

    EIZOER Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If you just installed the disc, there is an earlier patch (17something, the later one removes hddvd) for 7.3 that lets you play more blu-rays and The Frightners hddvd with 5.1 sound. I couldn't get it directly and had to google for the right cyberlink page.

    Hope this helps.
     
  11. usherMK

    usherMK Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have no idea about what defference they have, but I TRUST Google only...
     
  12. BigDK

    BigDK Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    What are you trying to say?
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,315
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    maybe a wannabe spammer as 2 other posts of his are not helpful posts.
     
  14. JoshuaG

    JoshuaG Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well have you tried to play with VLC player latest version or Windows Media player Classic latest version. I had never played any but I think it will work.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2010
  15. JohnRocks

    JohnRocks Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am also in same situation, I have problem in my cyberlink 7.3 and running HD DVD movies. whenever you get its solution, please assist me. Thanks
     
  16. Sophocles

    Sophocles Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,088
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    128

    I personally dropped PowerDVD after version 7 when I heard that HD DVD was being dropped and picked up ArcSofts Total Media Theater Platinum which no only still plays HD DVD. There is a guide available for re-enabling HD DVD playback in PowerDVD 8 that seems pretty simple and clear.


    http://www.digital-digest.com/articles/PowerDVD_8_Ultra_Enable_HD_DVD_page1.html
     

Share This Page