1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP with Sectors

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by gntlmen, Oct 29, 2004.

1. gntlmen

gntlmen Member

I'm fairly new to this, so please be kind. I started decrptying the DVD and after completion, I used DVD Shrink make it fit on the disc. After shrinking, I went back to Decrypter to burn on the DVD and a message came up saying that my Sectors are too big for the disc. I'm totally lost, I haven't read anything about sectors. Any help would be appreciated. Take care

2. bigorange

bigorange Active member

gntlmen,

Hmm...so let me get this straight, you ripped with decrypter, then used those files in shrink, and put them on your HD and then tried to burn with decrypter?

It sounds like you didn't compress the files or compress them enuff to fit on your media. What were your steps using shrink?

You are using too many steps anyway, you can open shrink only and it will rip, compress, edit and/or re-author, and automatically open decrypter to burn to the disc. There is no need to open decrypter at all, unless shrink won't rip the disc..

here is a simple shrink guide I wrote, if you follow it exactly you will get a perfect backup,

-open shrink

2-click on open disc, then choose your source video(disc)from your drive/ if you're using files on your HD then click on open files and choose your folder with your source video files.

3-wait for shrink to analyze(about a minute) and the new screen will come up

4-here you can go into extras by clicking on the + mark.

5-You can change compression on each or substitute still image for each until done. Each can be previewed in the preview window below.

5a- you can raise compresssion or substitute a still image on all extras at once before you hit the + mark if so desired. By using the still image you maintain a working menu.