1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hi8 to PC quality / process

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by jkohari, Sep 14, 2005.

1. jkohari

jkohari Member

I am new to video capture from camcorder to PC and could use some advice. I've used the search feature of AfterDawn.com and couldn't really find anything close to my problem....so here goes.

I have approx. 2½ hours of Hi8 video I'd like to capture to my PC and turn into a DVD or AVI. I have tried using Windows Moviemaker with moderate success, but not to my satisfaction. Initially, with the default settings the quality was 65% to 70% of the original tape. Pretty bad. I played with the settings in Moviemaker, which is hit or miss, and achieved much better quality. I'd say 80% to 85%. What I am shooting for is 90% to 100% if possible. My question is, is this possible? And, if so, how?

Equipment:
    camcorder - Canon ES8100V with what I presume are all the usual in and out connections. i.e. S-video, composite, etc.

PC - P4 3Ghz; 1GB DDR2 RAM; 3 hard drives with roughly 500GBs of storage. Using ATI's TV Wonder to capture through/from. I also have a Dazzle Hollywood DV-Bridge, but have not had any success using it. I also have an old Creative Drx3 card that went with their DVD player. It is not installed so I haven't tried to capture using it.

This whole process is more or less foreign to me. Windows Moviemaker makes making videos fairly simple, however, it leaves a lot unmentioned as far as trying to find the best quality settings. What I mean is rank video capture settings as to which is good, better, best. I mean they kind of do it but not nearly as good as they could or should.