1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home Cinema problems

Discussion in 'Receivers and amplifiers' started by BOOMBOOM, Oct 29, 2004.

1. BOOMBOOM

BOOMBOOM Member

Hi

I recently purchased a Toshiba television with what i thought was a home cinema system. However after unpacking and having the system installed (I'm a newbie to home cinema so i paid somone to do this)I found that the products i had purchased (despite spending a lot of money) were not what i had thught they were.

Basically i had wanted to purchase a television with a built in surround system built in (you can probably tell i'm a newbie to this coz i don't know all the terminology). What i mean is i wanted to watch my television with permanent surround sound - All 5 speakers and the sub working ALL the time. As it turned out, the TV i had purchased did not support this. An exchange or refund have been totally refused as i have installed the product.

The only way i can get surround souns now is if a watch a movie using the DVD player supplied with the TV.

What i want to know is if there are any products out there i may be able to buy to enable permanent surround sound. I've had a look around on the net and spoken to local TV dealers but no-one seems to know what i'm on about (nor do i understand the products being sold on the web).

I've seen items such as surround sound processors and the likes but want to know if there is anything additional i can purchase to get permanent surround sound (i.e when watching normal TV)

Many Thanx.

2. BOOMBOOM

BOOMBOOM Member

BTW my TV is not a surround sound TV if thats any help.

3. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

cable, satellite, etc?

4. The_OGS

The_OGS Active member

Sometimes TVs will have a little 'matrix' surround sound feature, that supports 2 rear speakers.
    But that's not Dolby Digital 5.1 surround is it!