1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hooking up old sattelite

Discussion in 'Digital TV - United States & Canada' started by harnar123, Jan 11, 2006.

1. harnar123

harnar123 Member

so I got a directv sattelite, I was wondering how I hook to receive sattelites from other parts of the world (ie europe or something. I have been hearing a lot about fta receivers, but I have no clue. For the record I have no clue about any of this, if there is something I can read or a form I can read, I will be happy to do so; I am a complete noob so bare with me.

2. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

Your old DTV dish will work with any FTA receiver. However what you can receive depends on which sats your area has line of site to. For example, USA & Canada can usually get the Dishnetwork or Bell sats. Those do have some foreign language programming. If you want more info, do a google for FTA receivers to look at the boxes and FTA forums to do some reading and see whats involved to update the receivers for programming. Believe me its very easy in most cases.
    If you can't find a good forum post here and I'll link to a few I belong to.
    Jerry

Last edited: Jan 12, 2006
  3. harnar123

harnar123 Member

well I actually wanna access encrypted channels, like hbo and stuff, what fta receiver should I get?

4. codymax

codymax Member

You will need a reciever like a pansat,coolsat,fortec lifetime/ultra, ect;
    keep in mind some of these recievers require you to enter bin #'s or keys. Some have to be flashed. If you come across one particular model that has a rolling bin capabilities that would be your best bet.
    D*sh network went to nagravision 4 in september and alot of boxes went kaput. 119,110 are the sats you want to point your dish to you mus have 2 lnb's if you only have 1 lnb then 119 is the one you want, the majority of D*sh's programing is on this satellite.

5. harnar123

harnar123 Member