1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can deal with this type of avi file ?

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by zooco, Mar 28, 2007.

1. zooco

zooco Regular member

I am an absolute novice in this area so, please forgive my ignorance :) .

1) I want to convert a few .avi files to DVD , playable on TV . But when I tried to import them into a few conversion programs ( i.e. ConvertXToDVD , Total Video Converter etc... ) they could not support these .avi files . So I use GSpot to check these files out . The verdict is that they need H264 Codec (i.e. H.264/AVC) . GSpot also indicates "Codecs installed " . I wonder why those converters did not work in my case , even if the codecs were available ?

2)I could not view these files on PC with GOMPlayer, KMPlayer , Window media Player and VLC player ( on WinXP O/S ) . I could hear audio but no video at all . Only Media Player Classic v6.4.9.0 can show the video correctly !

3) I also installed "ffdshow rev. 1082 (200700328)" to make sure I got the H264 codec . Still nothing changed !

4) What conversion program ( i.e. sharewares or freewares ) can handle this type of .avi files ?

Thank you very much in advance ...

Best Regards,

2. rdmercer1

rdmercer1 Active member

sounds like you don't have the right codecs instaled on your system, do a google search an you should be able to find a lot of codec packs, the mega codec pack is what you will need, good luck

3. zooco

zooco Regular member

Thanks for your tips ! Still, if I do not have the right codecs on my PC then GSpot's report is false ?? Or is it a matter of how to activate or register these codecs in Win XP ? In this case, how can I do that ?

4. rdmercer1

rdmercer1 Active member

no g_spot will tell you what codecs are needed and what codecs are installed, yes

Last edited: Mar 29, 2007
  5. zooco

zooco Regular member

rdmercer1 ,