1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I raise the ringtone volume on my Z500

Discussion in 'Samsung discussion' started by angus999, Dec 29, 2005.

  1. angus999

    angus999 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I understand that the ringtone volume on the 'new' Samsung Z500 is one of the few downsides to this phone.

    I have mine set on'outdoor' but it is still so very much quieter than every other mobile (even it's own sister phones, the D500/600).

    Has anyone any idea how to raise the volume further, by tweeking or download/internet.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. 007Brit

    007Brit Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    I think I know.

    Go to the Ringtones stored on your phone and then select one to play.

    A graphic equalizer will come up with the tone playing.

    All you have to do is push "up" on the central pad arrow to turn the volume up...or down to lower it.

    My GF just bought a Z500 and I discovered it on hers

    Hope it works for you.

    ;)
     
  3. angus999

    angus999 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanx 007, I've tried that but each time you come out of graphic equaliser, it reverts back to the original volume!!
     
  4. 007Brit

    007Brit Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh, didn't realise that.

    Thought it sounded lowder to me ;)

    Have you tried highering the volume of the Media Player at all?



    Additional:-

    I can't spell!! LOUDER...that's better.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2006
  5. angus999

    angus999 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry for the delay, yes, Media Player is set at 100%.

    I've read a few complaints around different forums regarding the ringtone volume, I think we are just stuck with it!
     
  6. 007Brit

    007Brit Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    Gotta say, what a silly little thing with such a good phone.

    If I discover anything new, i'll get back to you.

    ;)
     
  7. angus999

    angus999 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I agree, cheers mate
     
  8. 007Brit

    007Brit Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    Hello again.

    I think I found out how to raise the volume...but don't expect it sounding like a Metallica concert ;)

    Go to the Profiles list and then select OPTIONS on the bottom left hand side of the screen.

    Go down until you find the volume setting...then raise it until it hits the roof ;)

    Got a question you might be able to help me with...well actually, two.

    1. How do you set a picture you took with the camera to be a full
    screen wallpaper pic?...and take off the theme picture thats on
    the screen at the moment? (You can still see the theme pic behind
    the taken pic on the screen)

    2. Can you choose a tone for SMS using the ringtones/added MP3 and
    not the "terrible" ones present?
     
  9. angus999

    angus999 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi 007,

    Thanx for the reply.

    I've tried that method before, and probably every one you can think of but the ring is still quieter than other phones!.

    To answer your questions.

    1. Yes you can use your own photos for the wallpaper, either downloaded from PC etc or taken by the phone camera but it wont be full screen, i.e. the 'bands' on the top and bottom will always be there. (mine's Vodafone and their logo/software takes up loads of the screen.

    You might be able to make pictures bigger by using software from a different service provider but I don't want to risk my phone not working if all goes wrong!

    2. No, you cannot use mp3 tunes as SMS. I know that is another pitfall of this phone. You can only use SMAF/MMF files for SMS. You therefore need to convert from mp3 to SMAF!

    It's not that straight forward in my experience. The only way I have found is to get the mp3, convert to a .wav (using Nero), then use a different converter (Wav to SMAF)to change to a SMAF. I've found the quality diminishes loads, and the tune gets even quieter.

    If you find a better way, I'd like to know!.

    Cheers
     
  10. 007Brit

    007Brit Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    Thanks, dude.

    Appreciate it.


    Regards,
     

Share This Page