1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I make a SVCD (of a DVD) with Nero 6?

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by bratcher, May 10, 2004.

1. bratcher

bratcher Active member

I have latest versions of DVD Shrink & Nero 6.
    What can I use (free) to break the DVD files to several CDR's? And how do I do it properly? In other words I'm a total newbie at this.

I ripped a DVD of some old TV shows & got the following. TV shows only with no menu's ripped.

Nothing in the audio_ts folder.

video_ts folder

video_ts.bup
    video_ts.ifo
    vts_01_0.bup
    vts_01_0.ifo
    vts_01_1.vob
    vts_02_0.bup
    vts_02_0.ifo
    vts_02_1.vob

Nero says (when analyzing the vob file)
    The following problems were found.
    stream encoding which is not valis for a (super) video CD.
    invalid video stream 29.97 frames/second. 720x480 pixals.
    no audio.

I got the same error with both VCD & SVCD with Nero 6. However each vob file plays fine with sound (from my hd) with WinDVD.

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

You are Totally going about this the Wrong way...Nero Can not Make a SVCD out of your DVD, And even if it could I wouldn"t use it , because Nero is well Known for useing the worlds worst Mpeg encoder.....

What you are going to Need to Put your DVD on to 2 or 3 CD-R"s are these Programs:
    DVD2AVI 1.77
    Tmpgenc
    Nero
    These instructions will get you started....
    You can download these Programs from here:
    DVD2AVI
    http://arbor.ee.ntu.edu.tw/~jackei/dvd2avi/DVD2AVI_1.77.3.zip

Tmpgenc
    http://download.pegasys-inc.com/download_files/TMPGEnc-2.521.58.169-Free.zip

#1)So First rip your DVD to your Hard drive useing something like "SmartRipper" or "DVD Decryptor"..