1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do i watch an mpg file with a dvd player?

Discussion in 'MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding (AVI to DVD)' started by vaaaska, Jan 8, 2004.

1. vaaaska

vaaaska Member

sorry, i'm not exactly sure where t put this question...

i don't have a dvd burner, but i can burn cd-r's...

i have an .mpg around 200 megs and i'd like to be able to watch it on the dvd player...do dvd players play mpgs? can i just burn it to disc? do i need to do anything special to the mpg (convert it, i guess)? maybe it needs to be a vcd (of which i know nothing about at this time)?

a total newbie i am on this subject - ;)

thanks for any tips...v

2. vurbal

vurbal Administrator Staff Member

Different DVD players will play different types of disks. Most will play VCD and/or SVCD, each of which uses MPEG files for the video and audio, but require some preparation before you burn. In many cases you can also fool a DVD player that only plays VCDs into playing an SVCD. A much smaller, but growing number, of players will play miniDVD (DVD files on a CD), which are sometimes a little more complex to make than VCD/SVCD, but can be a useful learning tool if you plan to make DVDs at some point in the future. Most miniDVD compatible players should also have some sort of VCD/SVCD support. Finally, with some players you can just burn the MPEG file to a CD-R, and then play it without any authoring.

You should start by figuring out which formats your player supports. Once you know that, post the information here and somebody can point you in the right direction. You can start with this site, where you can look up what people have reported your DVD player is compatible with:
    http://www.dvdrhelp.com/dvdplayers.php