1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you copy real player files to disc?

Discussion in 'Nero discussion' started by kiii, Aug 15, 2007.

1. kiii

kiii Member

Sorry if my language is wrong but I'm a comp novice. My hard drive is full so I'm trying to move to disc the stuff I want to keep. I download a lot of video with bitcomet, most show up as wmp and I can copy these fine, but a few are realplayer and nero doesn't recognise them. I use nero to burn all my dvds. How do you copy realplayer video files to DVD? The extensions are divx and rmvb if that matters.

2. hobbit112

hobbit112 Regular member

You want to select "Make a Data Disk" in Smart Start.

When you click on the "Add" Button, make sure the Files types is set to "All Files(*.*)". This sould allow sellection of all file types.

3. kiii

kiii Member

Thanks for your help, as I got the impression data discs weren't for video, probably from that document sign next to it.... I made a data dvd and managed to store about 4 times the amount of material in about a tenth of the time; how does that work?
    The quality of the picture doesn't seem to have been affected.

Given that, would data discs be the best way of backing up my 200GB of video and music? I was thinking of buying an external hard drive as burning to DVD was so time consuming but this way is a lot quicker. Would I be able to restore them to my computer and make them into a disc that would play in my stand alone machine later? And would the quality of music be unaffected?

The problem with the data DVD though is, unlike a DVD-video disc it won't play in my stand alone DVD recorder. Is there no way to do that with real player files?

4. hobbit112

hobbit112 Regular member