1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do you rip BR losslessly

Discussion in 'Blu-ray players' started by tr1xjolly, Mar 17, 2010.

1. tr1xjolly

tr1xjolly Member

Hi, I'm new to AferDawn although I come to the site very often. I've searched the forums and the site and can't seem to get a direct answer to my question. I'm looking to rip Blu Rays to my computer and then encode with NO quality loss. I know H.264 is the best encoding out there, is it true 100% lossless though?

I don't care about file size, the time it takes to rip, or anything. I need 100% exact copies of the movies (just as FLAC is the exact same quality as a CD). What programs/methods should I use to accomplish this? Thanks much.

2. neronut

neronut Regular member

Hey,

There is no need to encode them, just rip them. A program such as AnyDVD HD or DVDFab will be able to help you backup your discs for safe keeping. All they do is dump the video to the location you specify. There will be 1:1 copies of the original minus the ugly protection.

Hope this helps.

Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  3. tr1xjolly

tr1xjolly Member

Thanks that does help. To be clear, I can just rip the movie and then play the files with VLC player and it'll be a 1:1 copy right? Would encoding help to lower the file size? Or is there something else I could do to lower the file size (nothing that involves lowering quality though)?

4. neronut

neronut Regular member

When they are copied from the disc they will be 1:1 copies. THey will have a bitrate of around 30 Mbits/sec, which may consume all your CPU time unless you have a nice CPU. If you want them smaller than some quality will be to be lost. Unlike audio that Lossless compressors exist for, Lossless video isn't really worth it. For true lossless then the video should be uncompressed (YUV or YV12) but the file sizes are huge.