1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to edit subs in a MKV file?

Discussion in 'Subtitle help' started by flowerpop, Aug 10, 2008.

1. flowerpop

flowerpop Member

i am wondering how i can easily edit the subtitles in a MKV file (as in edit the text and make the words different). im gonna guess i am gonna have to seperate the subs, video and audio, then edit the subs then recombine them? i am not sure where to start and i am new to this. any help will be appreciated.

2. flowerpop

flowerpop Member

actually NM. i figured out how to do it on my own.

3. KajNrig

KajNrig Regular member

I've forgotten a bit regarding subtitle editing, but I hope I can help a bit.

Download MKVExtract and MKVtoolnix. (MKVExtract is an executable that must be placed in the same folder as the MKVtoolnix program folder.)

These two programs are what you'll use to demux and mux the mkv file. (Demux and mux being "split" and "combine.")

MKVToolnix: http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_tools/mkvtoolnix.cfm

MKVExtractGUI: http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_tools/mkvextractgui.cfm

You'll also need to download some sort of subtitle editing software. You can just use Notepad if you're working with SRT subtitles and are fine with timing things by hand.

...but I figured you're probably not, so there are two programs I know of that work well with subtitles. The first is Subtitle Workshop, and it's the one I've used most recently. I haven't done much with it, though, so I can't vouch for its integrity. The other is Subtitle Processor, and while it seems to be the better program, I haven't used this one much, either, aside from converting subtitle formats.

Either way, they should both suit your needs just fine.

Subtitle Workshop: http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/subtitle_tools/subtitle_workshop.cfm