1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to fit recorded movie to one DVD?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by nytvd, Apr 13, 2005.

1. nytvd

nytvd Member

just recorded a movie (105 minutes)to my HD using TV capture card.
    How do i fit the whole thing to one DVD?
    Should i use DVD shrink for this?

2. babelfish

babelfish Regular member

dont see why not.

depends on the output of the capture card... you may need to use nero vision express etc, although most (i think) capture in dvd format (VIDEO_TS, VOBS, IFO etc - rather than AVI,MPG etc)

3. nytvd

nytvd Member

i think my card saves as mpg file.
    will DVD shrink work on that?

4. Jetster

Jetster Regular member

Neo Vision Express

5. MarkPS2

MarkPS2 Regular member

DVD Shrink is the software to use mate.

I have a problem, Im trying to back up a movie to try out my new dvd burner. Im new to all this. I used DVD Decrypter to read my origional DVD and I cant Write the files straight away because the file is too big for the DVD disk. Anyway I used a guide and decreased the file size in DVD Shrink etc. Part way through the encoding process it stops and I get an error message saying "FAILED TO OPEN FILE C:\RUSHHOUR_2.I01 The system cannot find the file specified". I have tried it a few times and I always get an error message. I know I read the disk correctly using DVD Decrypter can someone explain what I do from there to make the file smaller and to burn to DVD disk?

Thanks.

6. nytvd

nytvd Member

thanks to all.
    my next potential "duh" question -
    in shrink i should start (in my case) with "open file" as opposed to "DVD" button and proceed from there?
    since this is a movie recorded from TV there will be no stripping of subtitles etc"...only compression so that it fits on the DVD disc?

7. Car.Mike

Car.Mike Active member

nytvd,