1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Make a How to Video

Discussion in 'Other video questions' started by MikeInNM, Jul 26, 2002.

1. MikeInNM

MikeInNM Member

Please help. The remaining hair I have is graying at an accelerated rate... that is what I don't pull out.

I have 20 years computer experience in many fields EXCEPT video. I am realizing there is much, much more to what I want to do which is:

I want to record with an analog camcorder maybe 2 hours worth of scenes. Transfer those to computer and crop to 1 hour of solid info. Then transfer back to VHS for sale with future options of on CD and on DVD. I want the normal "watch it on TV size and quality".

I first bought a firewire/ulead combo only to find out I don't have DV camcorder. Then I bough a PCTV PRO because it said it would capture video from a camcorder and I have Studio 7 software coming in.

After reading all this stuff and now finding this forum I am realizing I don't know squat about this.

Can anybody offer me a solid, simple solution before I nickel and dime myself to death.

Thanks in advance

2. jnihil

jnihil Moderator Staff Member

Kinda depends on how much $$$ you want to spend, but I have a system based around the Canopus DVStorm card. It allows you to do DV/Analog capture, and also has the option for a hardware MPEG2 encoding daughter board. Most edits with effects can be played back to tape (DV or VHS) in real-time without having to re-encode. Very happy with it.

(http://www.canopuscorp.com)

Oh, and buy a BIG HDD.

3. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member