1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how to run snes in ubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by timeblade, Jun 24, 2007.

1. timeblade

timeblade Member

I have ubuntu installed and working. I am new to it. I would like to run snes roms on it. I downloaded zsnes, snes9, and snesemu for linux. None of them work. When I extract them to the desktop and double click them, they do nothing. I tried right click then open and they still do nothing. The properties say it is an executable file. Can someone tell me how to run these emulators in ubuntu desktop?

2. deadlove

deadlove Guest

Wrong place to install it.. You ain't using windows where you double click a desktop icon to launch things.

Try the ubuntu forums, or read the documentation which came with the files. There is probably a file called "install.sh" or similar..
    If you can link me to the actual download I can tell you what to do.. but for now I'm not going to do the guesswork.

3. timeblade

timeblade Member

I can't find anything like install.sh.
    I read the documentation and it does not explain how to run it.
    I got them all here:

http://www.zophar.net/unix/snes.html

I tried the first one for each emulator.

I will use the ubuntu forums for all future questions, but I would like to have this one answered here if possible.

Thanks.

4. deadlove

deadlove Guest

They both work.. the top 2 anyways.

For SNEmul you need to be in the emulator folder (I hope you unpacked it into it's own folder, not just your home folder)

Open a root terminal, navigate to the emulator folder and run the command "play" which will bring up the list of options.

###################################################################

For snes9x it's a little different, you don't need to be root (I got all this information from the readme files in the packages!)