1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Speed up Firefox page loading

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by geestar20, Apr 3, 2005.

  1. Dargon

    Dargon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all!
    (using Mozilla Firefox), I used an IP hider program thinking it was free of charge, it turned out not to be of course, so I deleted it. Well now Firefox keeps starting up looking for a proxy address. I've set it to direct connection several times and upon shutting down Firefox and starting back up it looks for the proxy again. Any ideas on how to tell Firefox to not look for a proxy server without having to go into options every time?
    Thanks!
     
  2. solargame

    solargame Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey geestar, just got to my comp with the problem and i installed version 1.5 and im still having those same problems.
     
  3. RimshiZ

    RimshiZ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for these great tips! It is really much faster now.
     
  4. Stitch15

    Stitch15 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    geestar.............you are a genius.

    This is the best thing that has happened to my computer in a long time.

    Much thanks!

    Regards,

    Stitch
     
  5. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This is kinda stupid, but what the hell..

    How would I know what version I have? and is 1.5 the latest?

    thanks
     
  6. Rob1026

    Rob1026 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  7. ZippyG

    ZippyG Guest

  8. bunny_c

    bunny_c Guest

    G-star I've got a question:Why would they not make FireFox like that in the first place.

    "like that" is referring to the acceleration technique you used.
     
  9. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    @-bunny_c-

    Everything has a custom setting and of course everyhting has default settings (and firefox is set to default when you grab it). This is an open source proggy so anyone can make their own custom plugin tweak and so on.

    If this is not the answer you are looking for (referring to the acceleration technique WE ALL used.)I will go more in depth if need be.

    See ya soon -bunny_c-
     
  10. bunny_c

    bunny_c Guest

    thank's for reply.

    and yes that was the answer i was looking for.

    thank's
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2006
  11. gronimo18

    gronimo18 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    ok i found out how to load the pages even faster

    browser.tabs.showSingleWindowModePrefs – true
    network.http.max-connections – 48
    network.http.max-connections-per-server – 16
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy – 8
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server – 4
    network.http.pipelining – true
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests – 100
    network.http.proxy.pipelining – true
    network.http.request.timeout – 300
    NEW -> Integer. Name it “nglayout.initialpaint.delay” and set its value to “0”.
    watch the difference now
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  12. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    VERY PHUQING NICE -gronimo18- !!

    as I was testing this I noticed that my pages were cached so that was making the pages load very quick so I then cleared all my private data (which contained all the cached pages) and tried to test again and I didn't notice any lagg with or without cached so that was very nice.

    I couldn't find "browser.tabs.showSingleWindowModePrefs" so didn't test and as with "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" and "network.http.request.timeout" I left it as I have.

    Very Very good job again -gronimo18-!

    I will do some further testing to check for stability.

     
  13. gronimo18

    gronimo18 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    no problem ya all welcome
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2010
  14. code57

    code57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the same problems with v1.5
     
  15. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    What problem are you having?
     
  16. Schwaber

    Schwaber Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Me too! When Am trying to save an image from a web, it kinda freezes for a while and then goes back again to normal.

    Its not like this before.

    I did what was said above.

    Just saving of the pictures is the only problem.
     
  17. EJTheSnal

    EJTheSnal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it's a little late, but if i have dsl will it work?
     
  18. jaysfan

    jaysfan Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how much faster does this make firefox?
     
  19. Dunker

    Dunker Regular member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Fasterfox is why my company just banned Firefox users from our website. Fasterfox' developer either doesn't realize or doesn't care that bandwidth ain't free.
     
  20. JasonSeo

    JasonSeo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    NICE!=D
     

Share This Page