1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hsbc ad

Discussion in 'AfterDawn feedback & suggestions' started by 7thsinger, May 15, 2008.

  1. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    This pop-out ad is slightly annoying. Not trying to be picky, but on my browser here at work it pops out randomly and every time a page is refreshed.
     
  2. goodswipe

    goodswipe Guest

    Never seen it. Do you use Firefox? If so, try installing the ABP plugin.


    Adblock Plus
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2008
  3. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Nah...it's an almost ancient version of IE.

    It's honestly annoying. Even with aD minimized it'll pop up while i'm working on something else.
     
  4. engage16

    engage16 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm running IE7 and have the same issue, glad its not only just me thats getting annoyed by it. I understand the need for advertising on the site, but that's just obtrusive, anytime you move your mouse anywhere near the thing it pops up and is a pain to get rid of...
     
  5. redux79

    redux79 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The Hsbc ad is rather annoying, it's strange though it only started happening this morning and only on AD. Every time a page is refreshed a rather large red Hsbc pop-up takes up a good portion of the screen.

    All I can think of is the site traffic is rather low so every thing you click on activates the ad in order to meet a daily quota?
     
  6. goodswipe

    goodswipe Guest

    Why not just use Firefox with ABP? I'm sure some of you can use it. I understand 7th's problem as it's a work related issue, but c'mon Firefox is better anyways.

     
  7. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    For the moment it seems to be fixed.

    Believe me i wish i could put Firefox on here. Jeez.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2008
  8. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    I saw it too. This ad needs Locoeng's BAN HAMMER !
     
  9. dRD

    dRD I hate titles Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 1999
    Messages:
    8,856
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    143
    WTF... AFAIK, we don't run _any_ popping ads and haven't done so in years. Can you get me a screenshot of this, so I can investigate further?
     
  10. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    It stopped yesterday, haven't seen the ad since and i didn't get a screenshot of it.

    If it happens again, i'll get a screenshot and post it.
     
  11. bilbo65

    bilbo65 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    "....my browser here at work it pops out randomly.... "

    Perhaps your Boss is telling you something....
     
  12. engage16

    engage16 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the ad seemed to go away around 1pm eastern time yesterday. if it does come back i'm sure you'll hear more of us whining about it... lol
     
  13. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Lol. I'm on the computer quite a bit for varying aspects of my job and i'm one of the bosses. All the guys here surf when not immediately busy. I really don't mind as long as they get thier stuff done, and it's done right.

     
  14. homesick

    homesick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yea i got it too i had another thread going complaining about it. seems fire fox users wern't seeing it. i havnt seen it since then though.
     
  15. wabashman

    wabashman Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    saw it last night using FF, not sure if ABP was installed on it or not. very very very very annoying ad. it would just pop up out of nowhere.
     
  16. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'm definately keeping my eyes peeled for this one to come up again, so i can get the info to dRD.

    I'm just glad it wasn't just me and the ancient version of IE that was dealing with it.
     
  17. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I'm forced to use IE at work as well and have never seen the fly-out ad...suprised as much as I'm on here that I haven't seen it.
     
  18. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I haven't yet seen the advert, though i don't/won't use IE anywhere (even at work). Doesn't matter if my firm lock the pc's down so we can only use IE, i've got my 2 Linux pc's that I control (firm can only control the internet connection and Windows) *nix (and various browsers) are under my little fingers hehehehe (evil laugh goes here)..
     
  19. engage16

    engage16 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it was only ran for like 5 hours in the morning on May 15th. You know the 'Ads by google' graphic banner like shown below from the main aD page or such similar ones on other pages... That's where it was coming from...

    Wish I had a screenshot the HSBC one...

    [​IMG]
     
  20. engage16

    engage16 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its back!!! There's a Trane one now too that does the same thing... Sorry for the large screenshots, but its the best way to show it...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2008

Share This Page