1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hsbc ad

Discussion in 'AfterDawn feedback & suggestions' started by 7thsinger, May 15, 2008.

  1. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yeah I got the circuit city one today. I'm using firefox 3.0.
     
  2. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    Pop ups on firefox, not good


    Now Casio got me
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2008
  3. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You got one with FireFox? Was ABP on?

    That's really odd.
     
  4. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Why don't you just use NoScript and block 'afterdawn.net' and 'afterdawn.com'?

    Sure, you'll lose the neat little buttons that save all your fat fingers a few seconds of typing, but you won't get pop-ups for slimfast all day long ;-)

    //bastard
     
  5. varnull

    varnull Guest

    I'm still not getting them... run hjt and adaware and see if you have that nasty popup running POC buried on your system.

    Failing that.. kill java and have a play with page permissions.

    slimfats.. ffs ;).. it will be Jenny Craig again soon.. Damn.. she was on TV for a whole hour this morning trying to sell some crap or other. /me hates that woman with a vengeance after trying to access AD from the library....

    **sings.. "Mariella Frostrup does lots of voiceovers and not a lot else though she seems to get by" .. hehehehe
     
  6. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @7thSinger

    For fear that varnull will jump all in my $hit, I'll still post this. What is Firefox ABP??- I assume that is Automatic Pop-up Blocker? Yes it's on, and AD.com cookie is allowed until I sign off. I run CCleaner every time I leave the net also. Be kind Jan! Oops not in her vernacular. :)
     
  7. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Close. It's Ad Block Plus. And i've never had one since adding it.
     
  8. Pop_Smith

    Pop_Smith Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Same here, I got one a few days ago (don't remember which ad though) and it was when I had ABP disabled.

    You can download ABP from its site here or on the Firefox plug-in site here.
     
  9. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    If you're using AdBlock Plus, go to Preferences > Filters > 'Add filter subscription...'

    Then, when you're there, add EasyList (USA) to your filters and that should cut out a great deal of the ads, just by the nature of their linking/scripting etc etc.

    For example, blocking "/ad_*.gif" has had 7879 hits on my ABP.
     
  10. varnull

    varnull Guest

    I use dr von evil also.. you can add more than one filter list to the plugin ;).
     
  11. tripplite

    tripplite Guest

    i never get these "on page pop-ups" like you guys do,

    i've heard a lot of talk about them but never actually experienced one:D


    ....meh you know this means right?? my afterdawn is better then your afterdawn:p

     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,329
    Likes Received:
    120
    Trophy Points:
    143
    2nd that.
     
  13. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    @trippy

    that's only half true since i'm only plagued at work where i'm forced to use IE.

    At home...no issues with FF3 (recently updated)
     
  14. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    I know ;-)
     
  15. engage16

    engage16 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm getting plagued with them today... Thanks for presents guys!
     
  16. iluvendo

    iluvendo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    And you said you were not religous.
     
  17. rtm27

    rtm27 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I.m only getting them when I use my laptop, only have IE7 on it.
     
  18. Ripper

    Ripper Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
  19. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ditto.

    That has been a recommendation through the entirety of this thread.

     
  20. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Thanks guys

    I installed ABP from Pop_Smith's link, easy. We shall see if circuit city goes away quietly. I think they are about toast anyway. I've seen rumors of their demise especially since Blockbuster didn't buy them out. They're building a big new store here too.
     

Share This Page