1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I am new to this game, need guidance

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by candago29, May 1, 2004.

1. candago29

candago29 Member

I have shrink and decrypter installed and have just used decrypter to read my first DVD to the HD and don't know how to pocede from here. I have read that all files together have to be under 4.36 GB to use simple burning method, but larger files are harder. My first dvd has 7.6 GBs of data to burn.

I am reading many posts about many things related to dvd burning such as software on nero that helps to aid these processes. I am totally new this but learn very fast so any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. viper6699

viper6699 Guest

the best way to achieve what you require is to use DVD Shrink to "re-author" the file you have ripped.

if i were you i would the guide on shrink (found via guide tab at the top of the screen) and see how you go from there.

but basically what you need to do is open the ripped file with shrink and cut out any extra bits you dont require (subtitles, feature and the like).

once you have done this shrink will compress what you have chosen to burn down to a 4.7gb dvd. and then you will be able to burn this with decrypter.

take note though that the more you choose to keep on your back up then the less quality you will have on the final product.......so for a good quality back-up.....edit out as much as you dont need.

hope this helps a little.......if you have any further questions you know where we all are.

welcome to the club.....
    viper

3. candago29

candago29 Member

Thanks Viper!

I'll try your suggestions and let you know how it went.

4. candago29

candago29 Member

I am really not getting anywhere with this whole process. The guides aren't helping as much as I would like. I have ripped a dvd with decrypter and then tried to use shrink to reduce the size to fit on dvd-r.