1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I am using Decrypter and Shrink and I am getting an error

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by tricia376, Oct 13, 2004.

1. tricia376

tricia376 Guest

I have been using DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink for about 2 months now. All of a sudden recently, my DVD Decrypter keeps saying it has an error and that i should check the condition of the burner. Does anyone know how i can remedy this situation. I have already tried uninstalling and reinstalling both DVD Shrink and Decrypter and that did not work. It is not a peripheral problem, because my burner is brand new. Please help me.

2. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

3. tricia376

tricia376 Guest

The drop box says DMA if available for both channels. Should I switch to PIO? I have also tried to download NERO and don't know if this would help. I have also checked the CD/DVD Device and it is functioning properly.

With NERO, I can't find where to enter the serial number. Grrr...Sorry to be a pest!

4. tricia376

tricia376 Guest

Oh Yeah, and now my stinking serial number won't work for Nero! I am having a wonderful day!

5. Nephilim

"DMA if available" can be misleading. What is the "Current Transfer Mode"? You want some form of DMA, not PIO :)

Check your pm's ;)

6. tricia376

tricia376 Guest

i cannot find my device manager. i am so sorry, please help. i just want to continue burning my dvd's
    thanks.

7. tricia376

tricia376 Guest

my primary is on DMA Mode 5, and the secondary is on DMA Mode 2

8. Nephilim

You're DMA settings are as they should be.

After you use Decrypter you should be able to save the log which is just a text file that will list the errors it encounters. If you could post a log that contains the error messages that'd be great. It sounds like you're getting a "check condition" error.

What make/model drive are you using? Firmware version? Decrypter should list this information :)