1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I cant rewind or fast forward through my FLAC files using WMP? Please help.

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Nate26, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Do I need to download something? Why cant I fast forward or rewind my tracks?
     
  2. k00ka

    k00ka Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try other media player(s)..foobar2k, Mediamonkey..VLC plays flac out-of-the-box.Try them out..
     
  3. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I discovered the seeking problem in WMP if the MADFlac plugin
    was installed. The solution was to uninstall MAD and install this one:
    http://xiph.org/dshow/
     
  4. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Dont know what plug-in I installed. I downloaded the Illiminable Ogg Directshow Filters for Speex, Vorbis, Theora, and FLAC v0.82.16930 off of this website. Did I even install any plug-ins with that? I downloaded that tag support extender as well off of this website.
     
  5. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I can tell you that MADFLAC uses a file call madflac.ax.
    If you have it in your system, unregister it.

    Then install the OGG package..
     
  6. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Installed that already and dont have that madflac.ax. file in my system so Idk. That blows.
     
  7. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Sorry to hear that...
    It worked perfectly on my XP and Windows 2000 boxes.
    Try this - download GraphStudio.
    http://www.videohelp.com/tools/GraphStudio

    Click on file/render media file (open a flac file)

    You should see a Directshow graph, file source on the left and directsound device
    on the right. Right click the box on the left and select properties.

    Is it the OGG codec ?
     
  8. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have windows vista. Dont know if that matters at all. I"ll try doing that other stuff.
     
  9. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I downloaded graphstudio and clicked on properties in the box on the left. What do I do next?
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  10. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Look at the info on the property page. You may be able to identify which
    filter it actually is.

    For example, you can clearly see from the object name that the xiph decoder is being used.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  11. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The object name is Xiph.Org Native Flac Decoder.
     
  12. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  13. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, thanks for trying anyways.
     
  14. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    One last thing... I tried the OGG filter on a Vista box of my own,
    and it's working just fine. I used the 32-bit version with my 32 bit Vista.

    Do you have the 64 bit version of Vista ? If so, what version of the codec
    did you install ?
     
  15. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yup,I have the 64 bit version of vista, installed the x64 version codec too. I dont know.
     
  16. davexnet

    davexnet Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
  17. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Im gonna try downloading the 32-bit. Computers being super slow right now, not sure why, wont even download anything, so it could be a while.
     
  18. Nate26

    Nate26 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Downloaded the 32 bit version but that didnt do anything. Maybe it will when I download another flac file.
     
  19. gbroman

    gbroman Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nate26, I use Win 7 Ultimate 32 & 64 Bit and have just tried adding FLAC audio files to WMP 12. They will not load to it, I have to make the default WMP from VLC. Having done that WMP will still not play FLAC files because it doesn't recognise the .flac codec.
    But hey, all my FLAC files play beautifully in VLC and I can fast forward/rewind whatever I like.
    Try VLC and your troubles are over.
    http://www.filehippo.com/download_vlc/

    edit: or if you are a stickler for using WMP then try this converter and convert your Flac's to WAV (PCM)or anything else that works in WMP.
    This converter is Free to download and use. No limitations on it, and its fast, it'll convert your Flacs to WAV or whatever, faster than you can use a pen to put a line through Flac and write WAV, say.
    Its here:
    http://www.dvdvideosoft.com/free-dvd-video-software.htm

    ps: WAV is as good as Flac and its MS compatible. Added bonus is that should you wish to burn your files to CD to play them in a standalone player, WAV will play whereas FLAC will not play.

    good luck
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  20. k00ka

    k00ka Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Besides VLC, foobar2k, MediaMonkey, J-River, play flacs..Just to clarify this statement

    ..

    If you only have the flac files, the burning app will decode/uncompress the flac(s) back to .wav format, for standard Audio CD burning..Most do it on-the-fly..
     

Share This Page