1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I formatted and lost 70 GBs on drive?

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by tom34diy, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    what does it show on the label on the top of drive for capacity?
     
  2. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It does not state "capacity," but it is labeled "80 gbytes." And it showed up as an 80 GB internal drive in my old Dell. It used to have Win98 on it before I formatted it with XP on this computer through the USB. Could that have anything to do with it? Thanks.
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    has nothing to do with xp, usb(?) or fat32\ntfs as i didn't have that issue with mine. check your usb enclosure to see what the capacity limit is. are you using a desktop pc or laptop because if desktop then see if you have an ide connector on motherboard not floppy connector as it is 34 pin?
     
  4. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
  5. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am using a desktop. I have not opened up the CPU for my desktop, but it is an SATA, so would there not be an IDE connector inside? How do I check the capacity limit on the USB? Also, as I mentioned, I have a 160 extrenal drive that works fine through the USB, but it came as an external drive.
     
  6. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    you ran a 160 so housing is fine
     
  7. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    what's the model number of the hdd,surely there has to be something locking it's max limit of space that can be read or the drive is stuffed
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010
  8. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    scorpNZ, When you say housing is fine, that 160 was an external drive that came already enclosed in its own case. The 80GB Seagate was an internal drive that I just placed in an Acomdata enclosure this week.

    And, that internal 80GB drive that I making into an external drive is ST380013A, SN: 3JT383WQ. Thanks for the help. Tom
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    how do you know that the motherboard doesn't have an ide connector? the reason i am asking is that the 80gig gets connected internally & reconfigured back to 80gig size.
     
  10. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay, I looked inside for an IDE connector and all of them are SATA (going to my two internal drvies) except what looks like an IDE connector going into the CD/DVD drive. Can I unplug that one and hook the 80 GB Seagate to it and turn it back on? Is that what you had in mind, to see if it reads the drive and then reformat it? Thanks. Tom
     
  11. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I disconnected the CD drive and used that power supply and IDE cable to hook up the 80GB drive that only shows 32BG. Same problem, no matter how many times I format it or whether I use nfts or FAT32, it still only shows 32GB. I ran Seatools tests, and it passes everything, but I noticed in system information it shows Max LBA 66055244. Does this mean anything?

    You know what I hate. I paid $30 for this enclosure to salvage this 80 GB internal drvie to use as storage, and I have spend probably 15 hours or more trying to make it work, when I could have bought a 320GB portable drive for $50. Maybe it is time to cut my losses, huh?

    Thanks for any other ideas to get back my missing 48GBs. Tom
     
  12. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here is a little more information, if anyone is still willing to help me out.

    In the bios, under drives, it shows,
    Drive 0: SATA-0 (and it shows my 500gb internal drive)
    Drive 1: SATA-2 (and it shows my 160 internal drive)
    Drive 2: PATA-0 (shows PRI IDE Master, but Drive ID is Unknown)
    Drive 3: PATA-1 (shows PRI IDE Slave, but Drive ID is Unknown)

    Why is it not seeing the 80gb Seagate (that is giving me so much trouble) that I hooked up to the IDE cable that was connected to my CD drive? Also, why can I see this 80GB drive in disk management, but not in the bios. Or, am I confused? Thanks. Tom
     
  13. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Have to assume hdd connected to dvd channel makes comp think it's a dvd drive,only option now remove IDE cable from attached dvd drive leave it connected to hdd,place plug that is in the motherboard & put it where the HDD IDE cable would go it will then show in either Drive 2 or 3 PATA,i think cs is best for pin jumper position,if it fails to show or show full capacity in comp manage & apart from using a live cd if even that'd make a diff at this point then drive is most probably got bad sectors or something

    As for originally being a comp hdd not an external makes no diff an hdd is an hdd,your useable space is 80gb for that drive there's nothing special about it only thing now that i see stopping it reading all is pin jumpers as unlikely as that is or drive platters are unreadable due to damage which going by reviews of those early models is looking more likely,something about flaking
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2010
  14. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Everyone, I really appreciate the suggestions, but the drive just does not want to cooperate, so I am giving up. Live is too short for me to keep searching for the problem.

    My last attempt to fix it was to reload win98 on my old Dell where this drive used to be, and then used Discwizard to write zeros on it (took 3 plus hours). Then, that computer showed me a completely clean 80GB drive.

    I then put 80GB Seagate in the new enclosure, plugged it into our newer Dell through the USB, and it just shows 32GB again. Something in this computer does not want this drive (an IDE drive) to show or use all 80 GB. If anyone, with this new info, has another simple suggestion, I might try it, otherwise I will donate this drive and its old computer home to a church. Thanks again for the help. Tom
     
  15. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,256
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    143
    what is the specs on the current pc not the old dell & what windows?
     
  16. tom34diy

    tom34diy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    This may be too much information. I am running Windows XP.

    Manufacturer Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    Clock Speed 3GHz

    Processor
    Clock Speed 3GHz

    Memory
    Available Memory 60.81 %
    Page File Size -1022.Mb
    Available Page File -318. %
    Virtual Memory 2047.8Mb
    Available Virtual Memory 98.01 %
    Memory Slot 1 [DIMM_1] 1024Mb
    Memory Slot 2 [DIMM_3] 512Mb
    Memory Slot 3 [DIMM_2] 1024Mb
    Memory Slot 4 [DIMM_4] 512Mb

    Memory
    Memory Slot 1 [DIMM_1] 1024Mb
    Memory Slot 2 [DIMM_3] 512Mb
    Memory Slot 3 [DIMM_2] 1024Mb
    Memory Slot 4 [DIMM_4] 512Mb

    Memory

    Memory

    Network Card
    Adapters Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection - Packet Scheduler Miniport

    Storage
    Drive Type Drive Size Total Available Space Used Space
    C: NTFS 451.0Gb 297.4Gb 153.6Gb
    E: NTFS 144.3Gb 56.45Gb 87.85Gb
    F:
    G:
    H:
    I:

    Storage

    Hardware
    Type Description
    DVD/CD-ROM Drives PHILIPS DVD+-RW DVD8801
    Disk Drives ST3500418AS 465.7Gb
    WDC WD1600JS-75NCB1 149.0Gb
    TEAC USB HS-CF Card USB Device
    TEAC USB HS-MS Card USB Device
    TEAC USB HS-SD Card USB Device
    TEAC USB HS-xD/SM USB Device
    Display Adapters RADEON X300 SE 128MB HyperMemory 128Mb
    Floppy Disk Drives (Standard floppy disk drives) TEAC FD-05PUB USB Device
    IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 27DF
    Primary IDE Channel
    Intel(R) 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller - 27C0
    Primary IDE Channel
    Secondary IDE Channel
    Keyboards USB Human Interface Device
    HID Keyboard Device
    Mice and Other Pointing Devices HID-compliant Bluetooth Mouse
    Dell HID-compliant Bluetooth Mouse
    Monitors Plug and Play Monitor - (Standard monitor types)
    Sound Devices SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC
    Bluetooth Hands-free Audio
    Bluetooth Stereo Audio
    USB Controllers Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27C8
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27C9
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27CA
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB Universal Host Controller - 27CB
    Intel(R) 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 27CC
     

Share This Page