1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I need info. on MP3+G format and good ripping sftware

Discussion in 'Audio' started by karatone, Apr 11, 2004.

1. karatone

karatone Regular member

I'm new to mp3+g and I'd like to get info. on what the best method and software choices are . I've got a huge CD+G collection and I'd like to be able to reduce the amount of discs I have to carry to my weekly karaoke show.I've heard if burned to dvd media I could fit close to 700 songs on one disc compared to 15 songs per disc I'm using now, I understand this format is somewhat new to the scene but if anyone out there has any useful information I'd appreciate any advice , thanks

2. Supacon

Supacon Member

Greetings Karatone:

I recently have ripped a very large collection of CD+G myself using software called Audiograbber, by Jackie Franck:
    http://www.audiograbber.com-us.net/

Fortunately for you, this software has been freeware since early February. If you go into the menus, there is an option to rip with CD+G subcode data intact, which is very handy indeed... not only that, but in supports drives that will only do subcode data reading, but not hardware de-interlacing.

This should help.

Also, there is a good freeware tool available for playing back MP3+G in winamp:

http://pages.infinit.net/belier/

Hopefully this stuff helps you out.

Keep in mind that CD+G subcode data has ABSOLUTELY NO error correction like audio does (Solomon Reed), so your discs are very sensitive to scratches, and artifacts will appear on scratched discs. You can, however, manually edit the subcode data and fix it with a CD+G repair utility, but this is very difficult.

I also have more information for you, but you may have to e-mail me to find out... If you'd like anything, feel free. I'm at:
    supacon /\T punk-ass d07 com

Take care,
    Supacon

3. Supacon

Supacon Member