1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I/O Error Semaphore Timeout

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Luxt, Nov 8, 2004.

1. Luxt

Luxt Member

Hello everyone, I am new to the burner DVD's and I ran into a problem basically before I started. I am attemtping to use the Decrypter but when it tries to read the disc an I/O Error pops up with the reason being Semaphore Timeout Period Has Expired. I also get Disc Authentication Failed popping up when I close the previous error, the reason it gives is Failed To Get Key Disc. Thanks for any advise on this.

2. mcalister

mcalister Regular member

Do you have an updated aspi layer installed ?

3. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Are you using an external burner?

4. Luxt

Luxt Member

Thanks for any help you may have for me. To anwser the first question I have downloaded the recomended aspi layers but when I go to the I/O interface and attempt to switch this to a newly downloaded version from the SPTI-Microsoft it states I need to download ASPI Manager. The second question, I do have a external burner. Thanks again for any help, I am lost when it comes to troubleshooting.

5. mcalister

mcalister Regular member

I wait on Nephilim, very smart guy.

6. Nephilim

Don't take off strone, we're in this one together!

@Luxt

Are you connecting the burner to a USB 2.0 port? A semaphore timeout means there's a lack of communication between your burner and system so connecting to a much slower USB 1.1 port can cause these errors.

Here's a link to help you check:

http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000602.htm

The main thing to look for is a USB controller that's listed as "enhanced" :)

7. mcalister

mcalister Regular member