1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

If you had to buy one Camcorder...

Discussion in 'Digital camcorders' started by k0k0m0, May 13, 2005.

1. k0k0m0

k0k0m0 Regular member

which one would it be???

I can spend up to $500 in one and would like to know which one do you suggest. I am looking for nothing really fancy, just that it has a good performance and easy to use...

Thnx!

2. edsloter

edsloter Member

3. k0k0m0

k0k0m0 Regular member

Does it use standard MiniDV tapes??

4. edsloter

edsloter Member

5. k0k0m0

k0k0m0 Regular member

Thnx so much!

6. coachJ

coachJ Guest

I have the same question... I am looking for a Camcorder.
    I am new to video making and editing,

I will be purchasing Vegas 6+ for editing and burnig...

Any others recomend this camera or another one???

thanks!!

7. TPFKAS

TPFKAS Regular member

Giving a good recommendation is impossible without knowing which aspects are important for you. The real sensible thing to do is list the aspects that matter and compare various models on those aspects. Then try to find people that have experience with the models that are on your shortlist.
    Here's an article about what aspects to take into consideration:
    http://www.digitalvideoclub.com/basics/camcorder.php
    And here's a discussion that might be of help:
    http://www.digitalvideoclub.com/forum/viewtopic.29.html
    Since you are new to video editing the articles over there will probably also be very interesting for you.

8. glfpunk

glfpunk Member

I just recently(two days ago) got a Panasonic PV-GS31 miniDV camcorder. I really like it so far. It has a decent amount of zoom, seems to be pretty smooth and stable, and I like the small thumb joystic for the menu options more than the touch screen that some of the other camcorders had. It was also a very economical camcorder.