1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In the market for a DVD Burner.....suggestions?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by webone, Dec 20, 2004.

1. webone

webone Member

I am very new to all this. Yesterday I went to Circuit City and bought a DVD-R / RW burner. Not realizing that it won't burn protected DVD's.
    So I guess my only option is to copy through my computer.
    Any suggestions on what kind of burner I should get, eg. single or dual layer?
    Also what software I will need to rip and copy DVD's to play on my Sony DVD Player.
    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

2. colw

colw Active member

DVD Shrink and DVD Decrypter will get you started (both free). Guides and software can be downloaded from this site - move mouse point to top of page and click on appropriate tab.

3. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Hello webone, welcome to the wonderful world of dvd burning. Single or dual layer? I am not sure if there is a price break between reg and dual layer.The top burners usually do both and also both formats,+ and - "dash". Dual layer discs will run about $10.00 a disc. Pretty steep now,but later? Here is a close list of the top 5 quality burners that have models to both formats and dual layer, but not in any necessary order. Pioneer,nec,benq,lite-on, and plextor. Software,I use dvd shrink and nero 6.0. Seeing as how it looks like you know what you want to play those discs in, a high quality burner and media helps in the many, many issues with stand alone compatability. With these programs listed, you can copy to hardrive,thus the protection is gone, then either burn emediately or later. Good luck in your quest.

4. webone

webone Member

Thanks for the Help guys.
    Info greatly appreciated and helpful.

5. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member

6. brobear

brobear Guest

http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/article/0,aid,118521,00.asp