1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ipod 3rd generation problems

Discussion in 'iPod discussion' started by feradais, Oct 29, 2005.

1. feradais

feradais Member

So im kinda new to this whole ipod thing, in fact im kinda new to computers. Well my girlfriend recently found a ipod at her work, i looked it up and its a 3rd generation ipod ( i think cause its got four buttons on the top and a scroll wheel). Well i have a pc and ive been looking up on google how to make it work, and after a couple hours ive tried alot of programs (macopener, xplay) and alot others to try and use a mac-formatted ipod on pc. Well it turns out my computer doesnt even recognize the ipod, when i hook it up with a cord ( which i had to buy from apple) i get a code 45 or something and it says its a usb device thats not recognized. Am i doomed not to be able to use it, is it truly a case of something to good to be true? Please someone tell me if i can make this work on my pc.

2. Lethal_B

Lethal_B Moderator Staff Member

You may need to install the ipod software.

http://www.apple.com/ipod/download/

Yow will need [bold]iPod Software 2.3[/bold]

install to computer. then hook your ipod up, open the software and click restore, this will clear up the ipod. Then afterwards, [bold]install[/bold] the ipod software to the ipod and then you should be sorted

get itunes 6 if you don't already, then just import music! :)

http://www.apple.com/itunes/

Good Luck

Lethal

Last edited: Oct 30, 2005
  3. feradais

feradais Member