1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is a PSU safe outside its metal box?

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by navi95, Sep 8, 2004.

1. navi95

navi95 Regular member

Hi,

I got a project goin which is basically putting a PC inside an spare XBOX case. Im using my old 800mhz system since I only want to use it for emulation (n maybe sum old skool games like quake 2) and watching films. Problem is the PSU is a tiny bit big so I took it apart so I can place it inside it just like that but I dont no wether its safe for the rest of system.

Any replies would b great,

Thanx

2. matty8887

matty8887 Regular member

It will be ok as long as no metal is touching the psu components.

3. navi95

navi95 Regular member

thanx, thats wot i thought.

4. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

I sure as hell wouldn't do it. I'm a commercial/industrial electrician by the way.

5. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

That cover around it isn't there for looks. Input into many of the componets is 120volts. I don't think there is any operational reasons, but safety is a big factor.

Jerry

6. navi95

navi95 Regular member

could anyone give an alternative then? is there such a thing as a mini PSU??

7. navi95

navi95 Regular member

would it be safe if I was to make another metal case that is small enough for the xbox? could that cause any problems?

8. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

I guess if you covered it with something and did it with safety in mind, it should work. Maybe something that doesn't conduct like plastic.

Jerry

9. navi95

navi95 Regular member

interesting............

maybe sumthin like acrylic?

10. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Last edited: Sep 8, 2004
  11. navi95

navi95 Regular member