1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is defragmenting generally needed this often?

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Whitfield, Sep 20, 2004.

1. Whitfield

Whitfield Regular member

Hi all-
    I have been checking and learning from this forum for several months and now sucessfully burn copies of my DVD's. I have noticed that my hardrive seems to need defragmenting, and general maintenance quite often inorder for me to keep the computer acting generally quick and smoothly--I have an HP a430n with the DVD writer that came with it--AMD Anthlon 3200 (2.2 Ghz) with 512 Ram and 160GB hard-drive--mostly empty--I do keep some of the movies on the hardrive--sometimes--just when waiting for mail-order media--so could that be the problem?--I use DVD Shrink and then have three different burning programs --ie. Record Now--came with computer--also use Decryptor and recently purchased Nero--which I think I will love when I get more familiar with it.--Could using different burning engines make a difference? Having too many burn options? They haven't specifically ever let me down--I just like having options. Still learning on these programs, but still use an old DVD-Xcopy product that started me on the whole idea--In fact, I do have to use it sometimes when Shrink has a problem--I think maybe 3-4 times out of 100--Still don't know how to use Decryptor first then Shrink--only ever use Scuba Petes recipe that has Shrink first--what are the advantages of running Decryptor first then Shrink and is there an easy guide?--K, sorry I have been rambling, just thought you should know that there are probably a lot of people like me thanks to folks like you here in this forum--

Roger(Whitfield)

2. bigorange

bigorange Active member

Roger,