1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Limited or no connectivity =/

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by crutality, May 1, 2007.

1. crutality

crutality Member

Hello everyone, since 2 days i have trouble with my laptop to connect to the internet, but it is working on my other laptop.

I think this occured when i deleted a few files in my hard disk.
    But that might not be the reason.

I also tryed with an ethernet cable and another Wifi, but i got the same problem.

This is what i get when attempting to connect:

Limited or no connectivity
    The network did not assign a network address to the computer.

When i try to repair, it tells me that it can not renew my IP.

I am not very experienced in Informatik, and i really hope someone can help me :(

Regards,
    Crutality.

2. ffg7

ffg7 Regular member

if using xp or win2k, try a system restore back to before the problem started.

3. crutality

crutality Member

sadly i dont have any windows cd atm :/

4. redZoneOS

redZoneOS Regular member

try assigning a static IP... that usually works for me... I hate those stupid messages...

go to network connection... right click wireless network and go to properties... from there highlight TCP/IP and click properties... Where it says "Obtain IP automatically) choose the manual option... give it a different IP address:

IP is usually something like : 192.168.0.101 (the last .1 can be changed to any higher value so try like .105 or something)
    Subnet mask : 255.255.255.0

default gateway: usually 192.168.0.1 but yours maaaybe different

5. crutality

crutality Member

thx for the replys ; i talked to my ISP and he told me that it was from my pc, when i deleted i dunno what :/

He told me to perform a system restore, any1 can assist me on that ?

6. crutality

crutality Member

system restore didnt do anything , the problem is that my computer can not acces to my router

7. ffg7