1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linspire problem on an old laptop

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by Coxy_69, Jul 30, 2006.

1. Coxy_69

Coxy_69 Member

My laptop that i found again in my loft is:
    P3 700MHZ 128Mb Ram 20GB Hard drive with dvd drive.

My problem is this: when i run Windows XP the laptop does not go into hibernation, yet whenever i boot linspire (live or Native) it constantly hibernates every minute. Any way i can sort this out, im guessing its a hardware conflict but i am a noob with linux, hence i thought i would start with lindows, erm i mean linspire to gradually become profecient at Linux. Any ideas????

2. dolphin2

dolphin2 Guest

3. Coxy_69

Coxy_69 Member

i am still getting the same problem, i second checked and it is a P3 1GHZ. It is an ADVENT and someone else told me about their hibernation problem and suggested i change the bios. However this is a second-hand laptop and the bios password is unknown. After googling i got no joy, can anyone help with this password issue? If i can solve the hibernation problem i will be well chuffed.
    Please advise

4. creaky

creaky Moderator Staff Member

5. dolphin2

dolphin2 Guest

6. Coxy_69

Coxy_69 Member

Ok, Fed up now with my bloody BIOS. So i have scratched the whole "it may be in the bios thing".
    I have also binned LINSPIRE as my Linux choice. I am now trying an evaluation copy of LINUX XP (its Red hat build-Fedora Core) and my system has not hibernated. So far so Good. So now i am going to try Gentoo as i have a varient of that running on my XBOX (which is cool in a geeky kinda way) and see if it is just linspire being weird on the Laptop. Cheers for the links, they have been preserved in my "help i need help Folder".