1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linux for internet only

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by unrealfan, Nov 15, 2007.

1. unrealfan

unrealfan Member

Hi,

Ive been playing with Linux off and on for a few years.

Im looking to setup my room with 3 computers, I have 1 thats running windows xp with a hub connected to it that i use for my xbox to play videos.

Is there a linux distribution that I can install on the other 2 computers that when they turn on they go into firefox or any internet app that will connect right 2 my network?

2. arcder23

arcder23 Member

yea if u have Kubuntu you can use FIRESTARTER, thats what i use for y pc to connect to Xbox for videos n live. what u have to do is to give your xbox an ip. i gave my 192.168.1.100 n u have to configer it to send it to that ip. i works nice

3. unrealfan

unrealfan Member

well,

What I want to do is use the network I have right now with my xp computer thats setup for internet sharing to make my 2 other computers boot to firefox. I have a few friends that come over and I dont want them to delete files from my computer. So I want to make computers 4 when they come over.

4. varnull

varnull Guest

Unless running as root how can they delete any system files (I hope you are not running ubuntu or similar.. insecure)?

Just set up a guest account on both machines, with a very limited set of applications..

say a group like :: internet
    users :: root and guest

and make a simple guest password that is easy to remember like.. oh.. webuser

guest will get it's own /home folder and can keep bookmarks just like any other user.. but you have the option of when to allow access and what to..

This is a very old guide but gives the general idea of what you want http://www.linux.com/base/ldp/howto/Public-Web-Browser-2.html