1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Making a 2nd copy of a copy

Discussion in 'DVD2One forum' started by stretch13, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. stretch13

    stretch13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried to back up one of my copied discs and got this error message:

    Processing error:

    D:/VIDEO_TS/VTS_03_1.VOB: read error

    Incorrect function.

    If reading the media has failed, please clean the surface and try again.

    File 1 D:/VIDEO_TS/VTS_03_1.VOB TCSectorReader

    This happened on CLoneDVD2, I have also tried this on Shrink, DVDFAB as well as Dvd Decrypter.....This has not been the first time I have had problems trying to make a backup to a backup. Please help!!!!
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    most likely it's the media your using. What brand are you using?
     
  3. stretch13

    stretch13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nero 7 Ultra Edition
     
  4. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    No brand of media.
     
  5. stretch13

    stretch13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where would I look to find that out
     
  6. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I would start with the top of the disc. Your trying to copy a copy right?

    If you use crappy media to make the first copy and you crappy media cannot be read (ie.ripped) you won't be able to copy it.
     
  7. stretch13

    stretch13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Oh sorry.... I have been using Fujifilm and Verbatim the most as well as some TDK and Sony
     
  8. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hmm .. well I've use Verbatims and have no problem making a copy of a copy. I used to use TDK, dunno about fujifilm. I hated Sony the sucked IMO.

    I would try to make a backup with your verbatims and then try and copy that. If you can't it could be your optical drive.
     
  9. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    FujiFilm (MIJ) is YUDEN manufactured.
    Just as good as Verbatim and those two are all I use.

    In your case it seems the media your trying to copy is BAD or damaged.

    ---off topic----

    Good to see you Flip! It has been a long time.
    After seeing you and Dave posting its like old times again.
    We miss you guys around here!
    (Even Praetor but dont tell him I said so.)

    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2006
  10. stretch13

    stretch13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am not sure if it is a bad copy.... they play fine on the dvd player.... how would I know if it was an optical problem?
     
  11. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    cause it's not able to rip the backup disc.
     
  12. ireland

    ireland Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,720
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    get anydvd and copy the movie to your hard drive and go from there
    http://www.slysoft.com/en/download.html

    read below,,

    New: Added "AnyDVD Ripper". This little tool repairs defective DVDs
    while copying them to your harddisk. It can be started from the menu of
    the AnyDVD fox icon. It can be started as a stand alone application from
    the start menu as well, so it can be used even if AnyDVD is not registered
    and the trial period has expired.

    t is identical to FixVTS (http://www.videohelp.com/~FixVTS/) but instead
    of fixing problems "in place" it copies the files to your harddisk directly
    from the source DVD. It fixes the problems while the files are copied.
    Some DVDs which have severe mastering defects e.g.,
     
  13. stretch13

    stretch13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have AnyDvd as well as DvdCopy
     
  14. ireland

    ireland Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,720
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    since ye have anydvd 5941,right click on the fox at ye task-bar and select RIP VIDEO-DVD TO HARD DRIVE

    ***it is identical to FixVTS (http://www.videohelp.com/~FixVTS/) but instead
    of fixing problems "in place" it copies the files to your harddisk directly
    from the source DVD. It fixes the problems while the files are copied.
    Some DVDs which have severe mastering defects e.g.,***
     

Share This Page