1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Making copies with a Double Layer Burner

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by donwid, Oct 25, 2004.

1. donwid

donwid Member

Hey Everyone,
    I have a DVD +/- RW with double layer write capability. The computer came with the Sonic RecordNow software. I am wanting to make backups my my DVD's, but of course the encryption doesnt make it straight forward.

I want to be able to put the DVD in the ROM and make a copy as easily as possible. I was reading about AnyDVD, and from how I read how it works I should be able to put the DVD and and be able to begin burning. Is this correct? Because I have a double layer burner, do I have to worry about compressing the DVD beforing burning or does the double layer allow a longer movie to completely fit on a DVD-5?

Because I am new to this and I maybe overlooking something? Thanks for any thoughts you have.

2. andmerr

andmerr Guest

Anydvd needs to be running in the background at the same time as you are using your copy software otherwise it wont bypass the copy protection mechanisms

3. Jerry746

Jerry746 Senior member

If you are using single layer dvd 5 blanks, then you still have to rip and compress the dvd movie to your HD first. If you are using dual layer blanks then you possibly could burn on the fly as you are suggesting but its not the safest way to go since the dual layer blanks cost $10. to $15. each. It would still be better to copy to the HD first to be on the safe side.

Jerry

4. andmerr

andmerr Guest

once you have it on your hard drive you can use shrink dvd to burn it back.

5. bigorange

bigorange Active member

donwid,

If you are burning dual layer media, all you need is DVD Decrypter(free) as long as you don't exceed 8.5 gigs. Open Decrypter and use read and write in ISO mode. This method is just as fast as burning on the fly.