1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Me a Newbie needing a little starting Advice.

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Swaneyjoe, Dec 20, 2007.

1. Swaneyjoe

Swaneyjoe Guest

Hi All.
    I'm a newbie to burning DVDs,etc. I use an older ver of Nero on my older puter to copy&burn CD's. I just recently purchased a Sony DRU 840 A burner with ver #7 Nero. I will be studying up on the new terminology concerning DVD,etc which I'm new at. Just one quest for starters, concerning image burning.Am I assuming that in order to burn a copy of a DVD I should first insert the source DVD into the new Sony burner, and then select Neros option (burn image) to HDD. Then, once that is done, I can just burn the image to a new blank DVD-r? If that is how it works?
    Now! second part of guestion. I am assuming that in the process of burning the Image to My HD, that I can select a folder to burn it too. The reason being, is that I only have a 120 gig HD, and want to be able to delete that image, so my HD doesn't get crowded.

That is all I need to know for starters Folks. The rest of Nero I may be able to figure out myself, without hounding the bunch of You with silly questions.HA !

Thanks for any input Folks..
    Swaneyjoe...Calif

2. iluvendo

iluvendo Active member

3. Swaneyjoe

Swaneyjoe Guest

Thanks Iluvendo..
    Appreciate the input and links to Help files.I have been browsing for some time trying to grasp it all.:) I do have one small question tho. I recently purchased a VHS/DVD burner and my only reason for purchasing this sony burner, was so I could burn copies of the DVD's of the television shows,etc I had taped.I can't imagine a 1 hr TV DVD being any larger that the 4.3 gigs mentioned in the exclamation of the DVD Shrink software. So is the added DVD Shrink software to burn actually needed in my case, since I will be burning smaller video files than 3.3 gigs.