1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Memory Standard DDR3 1666(OC)?

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by DHua, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. DHua

    DHua Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    On a motherboard it says Memory Standard DDR3 1666(OC) in its specs. I am not sure if this is right, but from what I can tell it can run RAM up to 1666. On Newegg there is only a selection for DDR3 1800 and 1600. I do not want to buy RAM that will not be using its standard speed, so I think I will buy DDR3 1600. To OC to DDR3 1666 what will I have to do, and do I need to buy a certain product to do this? Here is what I plan to buy, I already have a disk drive and hard drive. Thanks

    https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=8507949
     
  2. KillerBug

    KillerBug Active member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The link you posted can only be seen by you.

    The extra 66mhz is what makes it the 1666(OC)...most any quality memory can handle the extra 66MHZ without even noticing it.
     
  3. DHua

    DHua Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry I did not mention this, the memory standard for the motherboard is DDR3 PC3-10600. The specs tab of the motherboard says it can run at DDR3 1666 if I overclock it. I do not see any DDR3 1666 RAM, so I am just buying DDR3 1600. I think I will be using AMD Overdrive to overclock. What settings would I change to have the RAM run at its full speed (DDR3 1600)? Thanks for helping

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128392
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148325
     
  4. Xplorer4

    Xplorer4 Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    You might need to adjust the timings but other then that, nothing to make it run at 1600. 1666 is a bit different.

    Im not familar with AMD Overdrive but usually these automatic oc programs/features either suck(my ASUS P5N-D couldnt OC AT ALL) or they wont over clock to the full potential. If your OCing make sure to invest in a quality cpu cooler.
     
  5. KillerBug

    KillerBug Active member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    AMD overdrive is junk...it does not work with most AMD based boards. It has never worked with my DFI...and AMD overdrive has had many updates since my board came out; so I guess they forgot about me. Just use the bios for overclocking.
     
  6. DHua

    DHua Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I thought the DDR3 1600 would just downgrade to the memory standard, DDR3 1066 unless I overclock something. I guess I was wrong. So the DDR3 1600 will just run at its full speed once I put it in?

    I didn't plan to overclock anything but the memory. I just wanted to see why the memory standard mentioned OC and to see if I could easily do that.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  7. Xplorer4

    Xplorer4 Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Sorry I assumed the mobo could support 1600. On reviewing that, I am not sure the mobo will pick up your RAM at all.
     
  8. DHua

    DHua Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Crucial says that the motherboard is compatible with DDR3-1600. I did some searching and found out how to.

    Memory Frequency (half RAM speed)= Reference Clock * Memory Multiplier

    Reference clock default is 200. So I just need to raise the multiplier to 4 to run DDR3 1600. Is this correct?
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2009
  9. Xplorer4

    Xplorer4 Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Im not a big overclocking person, and Sam and Killer seem to be on the holiday.

    As for the Ram/Mobo, I dont care what Crucial says, see what Gigabyte says.
     
  10. KillerBug

    KillerBug Active member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It's like this:
    Memory clock is based on a base clock (a bit like a FSB) and a multiplier. The stock base clock is 200MHZ, and the maximum multiplier is 8x, so 1600MHZ is the top speed without overclocking anything. The 1666MHZ rating is based on a 208MHZ base clock(they round up)...a mild overclock that most components should work fine with.

    The memory should work just fine at 1600, and should work up to 1666...beyond this, you would probably start to get chipset overheating issues if you do no upgrade the board coolers.

    If you are not looking to overclock, then you should consider that board to be a 1600 board and leave it at that.
     
  11. DHua

    DHua Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks to everyone that helped. I understand completely now.
     

Share This Page